We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just what I wanted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just what I wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went to a Redskins night game and stayed here that evening since it was on our way back to southern Va. We had a long hard day and night so the last thing we wanted when straggling in at midnight was problems. Happily there were none. It was right off the beltway, It was exactly as was ordered and there were no major problems. It was clean and comfortable. If I had to complain about something, I would say that the refrigerator was really loud but I didn't need it so I unplugged it. The bathroom was very small which put the towels pretty close to the toilet and that kind of skeeved me but not too bad. Without a doubt, an excellent bang for your buck in the DC area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We admit, our bathrooms were designed a bit on the small side and if we could add more room to them we would in a heartbeat. However, it seems that everything else was to your liking, other than perhaps a better Redskins game outcome? Thank you very much for staying with us during your trip and please do come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    123
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
98
53
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

A group of us decided to stay here for the Metro was nearby and parking was free. It turned out great for us. The Metro along with nearby restaurants is all within a 5 minute walk. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful in anything we needed. Will return on all future trips.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
With so much to do and see here in Alexandria and access to downtown DC, why stay anywhere else? We truly appreciate the time it took to leave your comments about your stay with us, especially right before the busy holiday season. The next time you're in town, we will have your room ready and of course we'll be waiting to take you to any new restaurant you would like to try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany Ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Three of us stayed here for the weekend when we were running the Marine Corp Marathon and were very pleased with our stay. The cost was very reasonable. The location is great, only 1 block from the Metro and restaurants are just down the street. Our room, as well as the entire hotel was very nice and comfortable. The staff was great, friendly and accommodating. We arrived in the AM and were able to get into a room right away, as well as leave our bags for several hours after check out. Would stay again, no question.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmvfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and are hosting guest rooms at a discounted rate for the MCM again in 2014! We look forward to your return again next year if you're running. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My son & I stayed 5 nights here while visiting DC. The service was excellent! I requested a room on the 8th floor away from noise & it was not an issue. Heard some road noise in the morning, but not out of the ordinary. Shuttle picked us up from the airport. It was a 25 minute wait. Shuttle also took us to the front door of the restaurant we wanted to try in Alexandria. I highly recommend Mahai Thai on King Street by the water, if you like Thai food. Since our flight didn't leave until 4:00 & checkout time is noon, the hotel held our luggage while we walked across the street to the San Antonio grill for lunch. Not the best looking decor in a Mexican restaurant, but the lunch fajitas were excellent! I chose this hotel mainly for the convenience of walking to the metro. Worked out great & a short distance to Huntington to catch bus 101 to Mt. Vernon. The bathroom was a bit small, but accomodating for one person at at time. The breakfast was decent, but a bit pricey. I guess I'm used to complimentary breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8792Scarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are working on getting a complimentary breakfast here, but due to brand standards, the full service Holiday Inn hotels still are not quite there. Those perks are still reserved for our counterparts, the Holiday Inn Express hotels. But hopefully in the near future we will be able to offer the same for our guests!

Thank you very much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay, we enjoy having you and please do come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Location across the street from Metro station could not be beat for DC sightseeing. Room was comfortable and clean for the price. Coffee pot, refrigerator, and microwave made simple breakfast possible. Soundproofing was good. Heard a little road noise in the morning. Friendly and professional staff. Free parking a plus.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We really enjoy hearing from our guests like you and of course look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I travel often and spend about 10 days a month in hotels. Our experience here was the worst customer service that I have ever experienced at a hotel. On top of waiting over 10 minutes for the desk to check us in (there was no line) they threatened they would tow our vehicle if we didn't put a hotel placard in the window. Bathrooms and elevators were half the size of any other hotel that I've stayed in and the walls were so thin that we could distinctly here the tv in the next rooms and were woke up a terrible racket from the floor above.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello Brandon,

It is so disheartening to hear your experience was not up to par with what was expected of our staff and more importantly was you were expecting of your hotel stay when you arrived. We pride ourselves on our customer service and to read that you were treated in such a fashion during your check-in process is simply unacceptable. Our sincerest apologies and we only wish we could make it up to you in some way. If you are ever in town again, please contact the General Manager directly. We would love to have you give us another try.

Thank you, though, for your honest feedback. We cannot improve upon what we do not know is a problem. Your comments are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Ours was a 5 night family stay while visiting DC for the second time.
Everyone at the hotel is working on something like a 10 scale of client satisfaction, and believe me: they are trying hard, specially Linda at the front desk and the girls at the restaurant who are super friendly and nice all the time.
We had breakfast every morning, it is not complimentary, quality is good and service is the BEST.
Rooms are big and super clean, beds are comfortable, so are pillows.
Free wiFi works great.
The carpets at the hallways are not that clean and the door frames seem beaten up and not well painted.
We had an issue with a terrible odor of tobbaco coming out of our vent system and the manager came fast to our room and arranged a new room for us in a couple of minutes.
Vending machines in the computer room do not work at all, machines took our money every single time we tried to buy something, then the manager gently returnet us the money.
Old town Alexandria is a few blocks from the hotel, lots of restaurants and nice shops, the hotel runs a free shuttle. Shuttle from the airport to the hotel is free but keep in mind that you have to call the hotel so they send the bus to pick you up.
Eisenhower metro station is one block from the hotel and 10 minutes from DC at L'Enfant station.
Parking is free.
Use of the laundry machines is also free, but there is only one drier and one washing machine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xelaju007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We couldn't be happier that you noticed we are striving for scores of '10' on our survey's and we want to be sure you feel that during every visit you have with us. Even after you have checked out!

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy schedule to leave your comments about your stay, it isn't easy to find extra time to do so and we want you to know that we appreciate it. Your feedback about our vending machines having some issues has been noticed and of course will be looked into. We can't have anyone not getting their afternoon snickers bar, that is not good!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing