We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location and great friendly people.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good location and great friendly people.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Ours was a 5 night family stay while visiting DC for the second time.
Everyone at the hotel is working on something like a 10 scale of client satisfaction, and believe me: they are trying hard, specially Linda at the front desk and the girls at the restaurant who are super friendly and nice all the time.
We had breakfast every morning, it is not complimentary, quality is good and service is the BEST.
Rooms are big and super clean, beds are comfortable, so are pillows.
Free wiFi works great.
The carpets at the hallways are not that clean and the door frames seem beaten up and not well painted.
We had an issue with a terrible odor of tobbaco coming out of our vent system and the manager came fast to our room and arranged a new room for us in a couple of minutes.
Vending machines in the computer room do not work at all, machines took our money every single time we tried to buy something, then the manager gently returnet us the money.
Old town Alexandria is a few blocks from the hotel, lots of restaurants and nice shops, the hotel runs a free shuttle. Shuttle from the airport to the hotel is free but keep in mind that you have to call the hotel so they send the bus to pick you up.
Eisenhower metro station is one block from the hotel and 10 minutes from DC at L'Enfant station.
Parking is free.
Use of the laundry machines is also free, but there is only one drier and one washing machine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xelaju007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We couldn't be happier that you noticed we are striving for scores of '10' on our survey's and we want to be sure you feel that during every visit you have with us. Even after you have checked out!

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy schedule to leave your comments about your stay, it isn't easy to find extra time to do so and we want you to know that we appreciate it. Your feedback about our vending machines having some issues has been noticed and of course will be looked into. We can't have anyone not getting their afternoon snickers bar, that is not good!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    123
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
98
53
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is outside of Alexandria but a good place to stay to get into Washington as the Metro is just across the car park and reception have Metro maps which you can take with you. There is a free shuttle service into Alexandria which is a lovely little town worth visiting with some good restaurants. Rooms a bit dated but adequate and the bed comfortable. I was disappointed with the breakfast as it was very limited with no fresh fruit, pastries etc and the cover was left off and taken away from the hot food so it went cold. If you are a tourist to visit Washington then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
The best part about staying outside of the city is easy access as well as the history of a different part of the city to visit, we agree. Being right across the street from the Eisenhower metro station makes if very easy to get into DC and you can avoid having to pay for parking as you would at the Downtown hotels.

We are very sorry to hear about your breakfast experience! We take every measure to ensure that each of our guests enjoy their breakfast and all that we have to offer. Please know that your comments will be reviewed by our Food and Beverage Director and the standards of our breakfast buffet will be reiterated to our staff members. Even as we near the time to close down the buffet line, all items should remain fresh, hot and ready to eat.

Thank you again for your comments and feedback. We do listen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I work from home, but occasionally visit my main office in in the Eisenhower complex. I was staying overnight Sunday for work on Monday, driving back home Monday night. A fire and police convention was happening in the hotel at the time of my stay.

This hotel is located in the Eisenhower/Carlyle neighborhood of Alexandria. It is a 5-minute walk to the Eisenhower (yellow) metro, which gives great access to Washington DC. Close to the Patent Office.

Everyone I encountered in this hotel was friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Front desk, extra elevator attendants, the people who run the shuttle, even the cleaner, greeted me, engaged in thoughtful conversation, and were actually helpful. Seriously, best service EVER.

I had to make a room change due to a noise issue that the hotel could not control, and this was handled to my 100% satisfaction.

This hotel allows pets.

The amenity I wished I knew about, was the free guest laundry on the 10th floor.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms view East to Eisenhower Metro, office complex, I-495, and the accompanying Metro no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflower-EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We love hearing such a positive review! While we did have a group of fire fighters in house that were granted an exception to the rule with regards to their four legged friends, we do not typically allow pets in our hotel unless they are service animals. This is something we are looking to change however and the fire fighters group was our first venture into the pet friendly world. It was great to see all of the dogs in the hotel and we are glad to hear that you did not mind seeing them there either.

However we currently only allow service animals with documentation in our hotel.
Thank you so much for your great feedback and comments and please, come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arrived at this hotel 10/18/2013 and spent one night there. Desk clerk was business like and seemed only interested in getting me to join and awards program. I agreed but he had difficulty getting me the card and related he would deliver the information to my room. I never received it. Room was spacious and clean but the bathroom had several hairs around the bathtub and toilet. The restaurant food was excellent and the staff there were outstanding friendly and helpful. Other staff outside the restaurant were neither rude or friendly. Location is excellent and I did wake up well rested. Cost was a little on the high side. Hotel is starting to show its age. Over all ok for a one night stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USMCMSGTRET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear USMCMSGTRET,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hohenfels germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a great 2 night stay at this hotel recently. Ron at reception was efficient and friendly, well done , Ron! My room was clean and comfortable with free wifi and a fridge. The swimming pool was warm and large and the lifeguard was friendly too. I was disappointed that the hours were only 3 to 10 pm but understand the need for a lifeguard on duty. There was plentiful free parking on both sides of the hotel. There was a metro station very close as well as a shopping center with a movie theater and restaurants. The entrance is a little unusual with the traffic lights, beware of traffic on all sides. Would definitely stay here when visiting the area again especially if I were to visit downtown DC since the metro is convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for joining us at our IHG Rewards Members reception! We will be having those more often as a way to say 'Thank you' to our loyal guests and we do announce the dates of those on our facebook page. If you find yourself here in the area the next time we are hosting one of our receptions, please come and join us again, even if you aren't staying at the hotel, we'd love to see you again.

Thank you for mentioning all of the wonderful things you enjoyed about your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for nine days in September and had a lovely stay.
The hotel is comfortable and it's easy to feel at home.
The hotel staff are all very good, approachable and willing to help. John in reception is a fountain of local knowledge and the resraurant staff are a great laugh.
Our room was quite big but the bathroom was on the small side. The air conditioning had to fight to keep the room at a reasonable temperature and it was noisy.
The hotel is within wasy walking of the excellent Metro tram and the only way to travel into DC.
There is also a selection of restaurants within walking distance including an excellent Thai and a 'Ruby Tuesday' franchise.
We would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Best description yet! Feeling like a comfortable pair of slippers, or better yet, feeling like home is the best compliment we can ever hear! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We do recognize that our air conditioning units can get a bit noisy in some, but not all of the rooms. Especially if you are a light sleeper. But please rest assured that we are working to get those upgraded in the near future.

We look very forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel has a friendly and courteous staff. The rooms are clean and amenities all work. The cost is competitive for hotels in this area of convenience. Access is right off the interstate, a little tricky at the entrance but easy once you enter the first time.
I ate at the bar for my evening meal and the menu was not large but the choice I made was good.
My breakfast was typical of the Holiday Inn breakfasts with a buffet and order off the menu. Service was good, particularly one young lady by the name of Dinnat (not sure of the spelling), who gave me service that felt personal and made conversation that was not just passing the day.
Check in was courteous and efficient, parking is ample and secure.

Room Tip: Join the IGH Priority Club for the benefits, they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank organic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Service is a top priority here and you can be assured Da'nette from our restaurant always goes out of her way to make someone's day just a little brighter. She will be thrilled to know you remembered her and made a point to mention her in your comments and it is very appreciated all around.

Thank you for all of your positive comments and we look forward to the opportunity to have you as a guest in our hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing