We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over the 4th of July. Great location for travel into DC without all the hassles of driving. Short walk to the Metro station. Hotel was clean and staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    115
    50
    17
    15
See reviews for
92
48
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herriman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We came to DC with our two children for a full week for family vacation. We did not rent a car so having access to the Metro was of key importance. The hotel was priced much lower than most in the area and the Metro was only a few blocks away. It is a little shocking when you pull up to the hotel and see how it is literally surrounded by freeways but with that said we were thrilled with our stay! There was no outside noise in our room. The Staff were helpful and friendly, especially one cheerful gal in the restaurant that my kids and I just loved! The rooms were clean, comfortable and had free wi-fi and a mini fridge. There is a movie theater and restaurants across the street from the Metro station and you can get to and from the Regan International Airport right off the Metro. We bought a weeks pass on the Metro and were able to pack each day full of amazing sights!!! Would absolutely stay here again if we travel to the area. We did not use the pool or the gym.
Down side: Pillows were terrible and the pricing of the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khetcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
You're not the first guest who has been a little surprised at our location to the freeways of DC, but we have so much to offer in the way of accessibility to the regions many sites as a result and we are glad to hear that you found a handful upon your arrival. The free parking combined with the metro directly across the street really makes our hotel worth while.

We are working on the pricing of our dining room, but we are always open to suggestions for our guest rooms. Thank you so much for letting us know you are not a fan of the new pillows, your comments are appreciated and will be shared with not only the housekeeping department, but the general manager as well so we can use this information when making decisions about our soft goods in the future.

Please think of us when making your hotel arrangments the next time you and your family are in DC, we will happily provide you with a brand new set of pillows for your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in May 2013 for my wedding anniversary. The room was clean and the furnishings were up to date. The bathroom fixtures appeared to have been updated, but the tub was not updated. Great location. The staff was friendly and helpful. They took the time to explain the metro system to us...since this was our first time using the system. Our parking was free and we paid the rate that included free breakfast. Our room was on the 4th floor, facing metro. We did not hear any noise from the street or metro. The hotel is very convenient to the metro, less than 5 min walk. 20-25 min metro ride into DC. They have a shuttle, but it does not have a regular operating schedule, so you can't really depend on the shuttle. There are a couple of restaurants that are also less than a 5 min walk as well as a movie theater. I would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff can really make or break a hotel, that is what we believe here and we are so glad they took the time to explain the metro system to you. There is nothing worse than finding yourself lost somewhere on the red line, far from your intended destination. It has happened to the best of us!

Thank you so much for leaving your wonderful feedback about our hotel and our staff, they will be shared with everyone. We hope to see you again the next time you are in our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Room was comfortable but the bath was tiny. Fridge was nice. Quiet area close to the train. did not try the small bar or restaurant but they looked nice. Adequate free parking. Friendly staff. Very clean with an indoor pool and exercise room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlGS455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you BigCS for not only staying with us, but for taking the time to leave your comments after departing for home.

Next time you stay with us, please come and join us in either the Lounge (great happy hour specials and three televisions with tons of programming to pass the time) or Dutch's Grill with great food in both! We'd love to roll out the latest special our Chef has prepared for you to try first hand!

Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We pulled into the parking lot and groaned -- a typical highway-oriented hotel, far from the charm of Alexandria (even though Priceline ID'd it as being "Old Town" -- ha!). However, the price was right, so whatevs. The staff was friendly (the best things that ever happened to hotel guests in America are degree programs in hospitality management -- they may be bad for culture and society; kids should be studying calculus and Aristophanes, but they definitely make for better trained desk clerks), the workout room (four machines, one of each) was adequate, the pool seemed nice (we didn't use it) and there was a bar-burger place with some kind of ersatz guacamole thing that only cost $2 with chips. Braving the heat on Day II, my daughters and I took off for a run and discovered that actually there are sidewalks going everywhere -- down to the river and to Old Town, and there is a Starbucks-Coldstone-Thai Place-Steak Place-French Place strip kitty corner from the hotel in an office park. Also, the hotel is right next to the metro (so you could park there for free and take the metro), and they run a shuttle into town till 11 pm. All these things mitigated the miserable highway setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAFreeman225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We love to claim that we offer access to all of the charm of Old Town and DC without all of the congestion and are so glad to hear that you were able to see that we do indeed deliver on that with the metro and our shuttle service. Yes, we are directly off of 495, but that just means it is hard to get lost after a long day of travel, no one wants that do they?
Easy to find from any direction and with plenty to offer once you're here...the best of everything!

Thank you so much for staying with us and letting us know that you easily navigated your way through all of the easily accessible pedestrian friendly sidewalks and pathways that Alexandria has to offer! We look very forward to seeing you again next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The employees at the front desk were very helpful, especially John. He helped with directions and with adding on to our reservation since we decided to stay an extra night. It was a short walk to the Metro, which brought us to Washington DC attractions in about 20-30 minutes. It was also just a short drive to downtown Alexandria. The room was clean and comfortable, with your expected minimal hotel noise-we slept very well both nights.

The one con, which isn't the hotel's fault, was the intersection where you enter/exit the parking lot. It was very unusual and difficult to figure out when it was your turn to drive and where exactly you should go when the light was green.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colette424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We like to say that we are important enough to have been given our very own light at that intersection! But you're right, it can be confusing if you don't know what you're looking for when you first get here. We are so glad to hear that you did eventually arrive and were greeted by our wonderful staff!

Please do come back, and of course....watch for that little light! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I checked in for one night at this Holiday Inn, June 24th, 2013. I immediately hit the shower after a long day of flying. I took an extra towel from the basket under the sink.
After the shower,ni reached for towel, eyes closed, to dry my face. It seemed wet, opened my eyes and the towel was covered in black mold! This was in my face! I checked the other towel that was rolled up, as well as the face cloths, all covered with mold. When asking for new towels, and telling staff the problem, they were surprised and not very apologetic.
I would say if you stay here, check out bath for mold issues. We won't be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello Melinda,

Any one in your shoes would be so right to have reacted in such a manner and please know that we took immediate action. We do not take reports of black mold lightly and have had our laundry facilities inspected and tested for the mold. The tests came back negative. While we are not discounting the towel you had may have been, unfortunately, dirty, you can take assurance in the fact that it was not black mold.

This is a very unfortunate situation and one we sincerely apolgoize for but do appreciate you bringing to our attention. We follow up on every single review posted here as we take pride in listening to our guests and responding to every action.

Thank you for letting us know and please know that this is in no way how we take care of our guests. This was an unfortunate situation and has been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing