We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Place - Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice Place - Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We needed a good location to stay for a 5 day visit to the DC area. This hotel was recommended by a family member. The room was very nice and clean. Each day the room was cleaned fresh as new. Breakfast was good both for the buffet and made to order. Only trick was to ask for toast or english muffin; they are not on the buffet but made fresh for each guest. Location was excellent since it was across the street from the Eisenhower Yellow line Metro stop. We also went one stop north to King Street and got the free trolley to Old Alexandria which was a good deal.
Others here have mentioned poor sleeping due to highway noise. True, it is next to the freeway, but we had no problem, perhaps because we were on the 7th floor. We also stopped in the bar for drinks on a Saturday before dinner. The bartender even changed the TV so we could watch our favorite football team play. Drinks were good and also cheap.

Room Tip: We did not eat dinner at the hotel so cannot comment on quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papabuck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
You did discover our 'freshness' trick with the bread at breakfast, it's true! We do prefer to make the toast or english muffins fresh upon request in order to ensure that they are warm and ready to eat upon ordering for each guest rather than stale and hard on the buffet and we are glad that you have shared this tip with other potential guests!

The free trolley from the King Street station is another wonderful little secret right in our historic neighborhood and our complimentary shuttle can take you directly there rather than having to transfer on the metro as well the next time you come to visit. Thank you for sharing your experiences with others and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    123
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
98
53
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked adjoining rooms for one night to be in DC for the 2012 Marine Corps Marathon. Rooms were clean and pleasant, and well equipped with small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Just right for a quick breakfast at 5am. And just a short walk across parking lot to catch Metro to race start! We booked this hotel before for a wedding and the staff were great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Being so convenient to not only the Amtrack, but two different metro stops really helps our guests get in and out of the city and to their other destinations. We are very happy to hear that we will be your hotel of choice the next time you are in town! Please feel free to let us know if there is anything you would like to see us improve as we try to keep our guests needs and wants in mind.

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
233 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for one night on the Labor day weekend! Catching the Amtrak the next morning. The room was clean and cozy, and the bathroom is compact but clean. This is our hotel of choice for a one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really nice for a Holiday Inn. Some of them can be run down ,but this was excellent. Rooms were super clean! Newspaper, coffee, juice, etc free everyday, free airport shuttle, and walking distance from metro! Great burger joint across the street called Bens burgers with buffalo sign. Great stay! Only 15 min by metro to all good downtown sights!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flightkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We look forward to your next visit and thank you for the great feedback and work hard to set ourselves above the expectations anyone may have upon their arrival. You're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We came with friends from NY to sightsee in Washington D.C. We found this hotel to be the best choice! We were welcomed and made to feel at home immediately. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and everything we hoped they would be! One person in our group had a birthday the day we arrived and the hotel staff went out of their way to make her feel special! The restaurant serves a wonderful hot & cold breakfast. We never expected such a wonderful breakfast buffet with everything we could have desired to eat. The staff was friendly and helpful too. The hotel is less than a block from the Metro, which we used each day we were there, and there are good restaurants across the street as well. Our stay there was a memorable one - we're already planning our next trip there next October. Don't hesitate to make your reservations at this hotel! ~Valeri Jantzen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so glad to hear you and your friends had such a lovely stay for a birthday weekend! Customer service is just second nature to our staff and we are always thrilled to see that shine through in comments such as these! Our team members are what make our hotel a destination, not just a location to stay. You feel welcome here because you are welcome here! Thank you for your feedback and come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel was pricy for the average service, outdated decor and unfriendly demeanor of some (not all) employees. The beds were uncomfortable - one with a concave dent in the center and the other leaned to the right side of the bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartTraveler123DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
While we understand that our newly completed renovations, as of January 2012, may not suit everyone's tastes, we do strive to ensure that everyone's needs our met. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and hope that you will give us another try in the future. Thank you for your honest feedback, we can only improve when we know how our guests feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We always tayed at the Holiday Inn for New Years and other times during the year. Our experience was always great. We have not been back since the New Years party was discountinued it was one of the best for the middle aged and families in the DC area. I miss the celebration. I never had a bad experience at the hotel. Very close to everything. Veronica Byrd

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for the great feedback Veronica, you're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing