We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for one night on the Labor day weekend! Catching the Amtrak the next morning. The room was clean and cozy, and the bathroom is compact but clean. This is our hotel of choice for a one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    117
    51
    18
    16
See reviews for
95
50
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really nice for a Holiday Inn. Some of them can be run down ,but this was excellent. Rooms were super clean! Newspaper, coffee, juice, etc free everyday, free airport shuttle, and walking distance from metro! Great burger joint across the street called Bens burgers with buffalo sign. Great stay! Only 15 min by metro to all good downtown sights!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flightkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We look forward to your next visit and thank you for the great feedback and work hard to set ourselves above the expectations anyone may have upon their arrival. You're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We came with friends from NY to sightsee in Washington D.C. We found this hotel to be the best choice! We were welcomed and made to feel at home immediately. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and everything we hoped they would be! One person in our group had a birthday the day we arrived and the hotel staff went out of their way to make her feel special! The restaurant serves a wonderful hot & cold breakfast. We never expected such a wonderful breakfast buffet with everything we could have desired to eat. The staff was friendly and helpful too. The hotel is less than a block from the Metro, which we used each day we were there, and there are good restaurants across the street as well. Our stay there was a memorable one - we're already planning our next trip there next October. Don't hesitate to make your reservations at this hotel! ~Valeri Jantzen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so glad to hear you and your friends had such a lovely stay for a birthday weekend! Customer service is just second nature to our staff and we are always thrilled to see that shine through in comments such as these! Our team members are what make our hotel a destination, not just a location to stay. You feel welcome here because you are welcome here! Thank you for your feedback and come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel was pricy for the average service, outdated decor and unfriendly demeanor of some (not all) employees. The beds were uncomfortable - one with a concave dent in the center and the other leaned to the right side of the bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartTraveler123DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
While we understand that our newly completed renovations, as of January 2012, may not suit everyone's tastes, we do strive to ensure that everyone's needs our met. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and hope that you will give us another try in the future. Thank you for your honest feedback, we can only improve when we know how our guests feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We always tayed at the Holiday Inn for New Years and other times during the year. Our experience was always great. We have not been back since the New Years party was discountinued it was one of the best for the middle aged and families in the DC area. I miss the celebration. I never had a bad experience at the hotel. Very close to everything. Veronica Byrd

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for the great feedback Veronica, you're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We held our high school reunion here. This hotel had been the site of our high school Senior Prom so it was fun to be able to go back and have the reunion there.
At our first meeting, we sat down with Tracie Rollins and discussed how we would like the evening to go.
Our party could not have been better AND we got everything we asked for! (Many places PROMISE they will do certain things--and then don't.)
Everyone who attended loved the staff, the facility and everything that was done to accommodate our group. Many of our classmates from out of town stayed at the hotel
It was a first class event and I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who is looking for a very reasonably priced venue and one that is conveniently located and easily accessible to anywhere in the Northern VA/ Washington DC area whether using car or Metro!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelreview_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for four nights, after getting a refund from a horrible "secret" hotel from hotwire.com downtown DC. The staff here was friendly and accommodating, and the hotel was clean overall, and pleasant to stay in. It's in a nice neighborhood, and we felt safe staying here. Only a short drive into DC, but some of the surrounding roads can be a bit confusing to outsiders. The food in the restaurant was decent, but slightly pricy. Would stay here again. My only complaint was that after the TV remote fell behind the headboard, my son reached behind the bed to retrieve it, finding not only the remote, but two old beer cans that were left behind by another guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Traveling just a short distance outside of downtown DC can really go a long way and we are thrilled you found your way to our hotel! Not only are we still in the DC metro area, we are directly across the street from the metro which can take you directly to the heart of all of the sights in a matter of minutes without the hassle or cost of parking.

We strive to keep our staff trained on all aspects of their duties and appreciate your honest and to the point feedback regarding your guest room, your comments are taken to heart and do not go unheard.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Alexandria, SW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westin Alexandria
#12 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing