We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for four nights, after getting a refund from a horrible "secret" hotel from hotwire.com downtown DC. The staff here was friendly and accommodating, and the hotel was clean overall, and pleasant to stay in. It's in a nice neighborhood, and we felt safe staying here. Only a short drive into DC, but some of the surrounding roads can be a bit confusing to outsiders. The food in the restaurant was decent, but slightly pricy. Would stay here again. My only complaint was that after the TV remote fell behind the headboard, my son reached behind the bed to retrieve it, finding not only the remote, but two old beer cans that were left behind by another guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Traveling just a short distance outside of downtown DC can really go a long way and we are thrilled you found your way to our hotel! Not only are we still in the DC metro area, we are directly across the street from the metro which can take you directly to the heart of all of the sights in a matter of minutes without the hassle or cost of parking.

We strive to keep our staff trained on all aspects of their duties and appreciate your honest and to the point feedback regarding your guest room, your comments are taken to heart and do not go unheard.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Alexandria, SW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    117
    51
    18
    16
See reviews for
95
50
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night to join the Woodrow Wilson Bridge Half Marathon super early the next morning. The hotel was busy, but the staff were very friendly and the room was in fine condition. Walls are a little thin, and I had a room right across from the ice maker, but didn't have trouble sleeping.

Only major complaint is beyond the hotel's control. It is located within a spaghetti of highway exits and off ramps that can be hard to navigate depending on which direction you're headed. It is a stone's throw from a Metro stop, so it would be very easy for an out of towner to park at the hotel for free and take transit into the city.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank childbride84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
The Marathon was a wonderful and fun event to host and hope you ran a great time considering you didn't have to get up earlier to travel to the start of the race.

If we could have a say in the number of routes that lead to our hotel, we would be the first to speak up but you are right in pointing out that we don't. We like to consider it a positive point by saying we are accessible from more directions than we know what to do with!

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for the great feedback, you're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Friendly staff, clean room, comfortable beds, I would stay here again. This was our first trip to D.C. area and I really did not know what to expect as far as accomodations and locations, after spending time in Old Town, D.C., and Arlington, I was really glad we chose this hotel on Eisenhower, I felt safe here, there were plenty of joggers and walkers and it appeared to be the part of the city where the locals gathered for dinner and a movie. I picked this hotel after on line searches and what clinched the deal was the closeness in proximity to the Metro. Yes, the hotel itself is surrounded by the beltway/freeway systems, we used earplugs because we live in the country and are used to complete silence when we sleep. It was nice to get back to a clean room at the end of each day after walking miles and miles at the National Mall and downtown D.C. Ted's Montana Grill right across the street has the best burger I ever ate, we had to go back a second time, delicious! Never ate at the hotel restaurant, and did not use the pool because it didn't open until 3 p.m. This place needs a hot tub for tired muscles and feet. One other important thing to know, if you stay a week like we did, there is not a convenience store, food store, or drug store less than 2 mile walk away, I wish I would have packed more granola bars and snacks for quick breakfasts. We did not rent a car, we utilized the Metro and it was a great way to see the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Metro, that will be the quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgtodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments; we work hard to accommodate the needs of our guests due to the lack of a nearby sundry store. We look forward to your next visit because you're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were out on a date night celebrating our anniversary. The staff at check in was very friendly. The room was large and to my surprise the Kitchen Staff sent up a bottle of champagne, cheese and fruit. Delicious breakfast in the morning. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and are always thrilled to see that shine through in comments such as these! Our team members are what makes our hotel a destination, not just a location to stay. You feel welcome here because you are welcome here! Thank you for your feedback and come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is very convenient to the Metro and the Capital Beltway. Due to highway configuration it is somewhat difficult navigate to the entrance. Maybe it was just me, but check-in took a while as there were many people in loine with three clerks handling that chore. Once at the counter my Priority Check-In went smoothly and efficiently. The room was on the top floor next to the guest laundry. I didn;t hear anything, but then again it may not have been used. The room had obviously been renovated, especially the bathroom. The fan in the bathroom runs 24/7. It's somewhat annoying. The bed was comfortable and the TV offers numerous channels some in High Definition. There two problems. The room smelled extremely musty. It didn't have that "fresh" smell. Second, the coffee maker sits on the bureau but the cord is too short to plug it into the wall without putting it on the floor. That was pretty silly. If there was a more convenient recepacle I didn't see it. The restaurant was visited for breakfast. They offer a buffet for about $15. My waiter spoke broken English, which caused a bit of a communication problem. He brought me OJ and thought I wanted the buffet. I asked for a menu instead. I ordered the American breakfast, which comes with three eggs, toast, meat, home fries and fruit on the plate, plus coffee and juice. The cost is $9.00. The scrambled eggs were delicious. The meal is filling. If you order this breakfast check the bill. They tried charging me $2.50 for juice. I had to point out that juice was included. They immediately brought a new check. Obviously, the waiter didn;t know his menu. The stay was OK. I would think about staying again but the room needs to be fresher.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Forget what you might think you know about Holiday Inns. This hotel competes well with so-called premium brands, offering a sophisticated lodging experience all the way around. The staff is well trained and friendly. My room was super. Breakfast is full-service, also with a nice buffet, but quick in a well appointed lobby restaurant with a thermos of coffee on the table. I can't say enough about it. I'll be back.

Room Tip: No particular tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPheasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for the great feedback, you're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

While expensive, but not by Washington DC standards this time of year, this was a very convenient hotel one block from the Metro and thus a 20 minute train ride to the DC Mall. Some very good restaurants a block away, and of course a Starbucks one block away to get us going in the morning. Very friendly staff. But do stay away from the hotel restaurant - $14.00 tasteless hamburgers. The room was clean well equipped, but the bed was lumpy and my partner and I always ended up sinking to the middle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolkein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback, we can only improve when we know how our guests feel. While we get a lot of positive comments about our new pillow top beds, we know that they may not be the best for everyone. We would love to invite you back again, however, to sample our new restaurant menus which offer a wider variety of foods at a lower and more family friendly price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Westin Alexandria
#12 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, IHG, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing