We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Holiday Inn DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Staff was great, they helped us with reserving tours, shuttled us to Old Town, and were very friendly. Every one greeted you with a "Good Morning". Prices of hotels closer to DC were spendy and they charged you to park. Not so here. Having restuarant and bar at hotel were a plus for breakfast in AM and relaxing cocktail in PM. Two block walk to Metro station made travel into DC a breeze.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vern N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Whether you’re in the mood for an early breakfast to kick off your day or a late cocktail to unwind, we have you covered here! Dutch’s Grill is our full service restaurant offering breakfast lunch and dinner service and a warm family atmosphere while Dutch’s lounge is a comfortable bar offering a wide variety of appetizers and a full bar. Whatever your mood may be, our friendly staff will be sure you are taken care of. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    133
    62
    21
    18
See reviews for
111
59
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good stay. Clean and comfortable rooms. Close to metro and highways. Free parking was a huge plus for the area! VERY close to downtown old town and whole foods (a cheaper alternative to eating out). The room was equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and a very comfortable bed. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerNight9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Complimentary parking is only one of our features and we are happy to hear you were able to that one to save some money while visiting our city! Thank you for your comments and come to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We chose the Holiday Inn Alexandria for our 5 night stay due in part to it's close proximity to the Metro light rail stop. The hotel management, front desk, bell cap, restuarant and bar staffer's went over and above to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. While the hotel reflects it's age, and we did encounter a couple of inconvenient problems with our room, the staff promptly got us into another, upgraded room and compensated us with dinner/breakfast. They appeared to enjoy having us stay with them.
DGF Minnesota

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Our team members are what makes our hotel a destination, not just a location to stay. You feel welcome here because you are welcome here! Thank you for your feedback and come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great little find in the DC area ....Staff was great prices great for the DC are mins from DC and Local area ....They shuttle you to Old town and pick you up...They even went so far since their driver was on another shuttle run to the airport to pay for us to take a cab back ....GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE .....This is our place to stay when we come back ..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for the great feedback, you're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The staff helped us from the moment we came into the hotel. Helped us buy baseball tickets, gave us great advice on how and when to get to the park.Two blocks from the metro. Free parking, good rates, AND a huge room with microwave, refrigerator, and great bed. Can't beat the value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shurwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed on the 10th floor because I had requested a quiet room. The problem with the 10th floor is that the roof leaks and there are some doozy waterstains on the ceiling. The ceilings are low and lend the rooms a claustrophobic feel. The 10th floor is also the location of the lone free washer and dryer so there is often a parade of folks dragging laundry down the narrow corridor. I'll admit this is a great amenity and, at 2 am when it was finally free, I used it.

I do not know if it was the laundry, the low ceilings or just being on a upper floor, but the hall was damp and muggy, as if there was no air conditioning in it. The air conditioner in my room also struggled to keep up with the 100+ degree temps outside.

The room itself was far from clean. When I pulled the mattress away from the wall to chase down a lost pen the collection of dust buffalo, dirty bandaids and what-not (you can fill in the blank here) under there was disgusting. The bathroom is cramped and the exhaust fan seems to be growing its own breed of dust bunny/caterpiller. On the up side, the fridge and micowave worked well, but who is gonna eat in a filty room? The "business center" consisted of two computers with free printers which were perfectly adequate for checking e-mail and mapquest. You have to get an access code at the front desk and that was a bit tricky to do (finding an attendant at 2 am when the computers for the 10 story building were finally free).

This is a big, anonymous hotel. While the front desk was pleasant, they were harried and lacked the personality and friendliness I encountered at the Ft Belvoir Hampton (see my review of that property). The Holiday Inn's fancy reception area drinks are really country-time lemonade in one container and tap water with some fruit and herbs floating in it in the other. It is served in dixie-sized cups. Parking at the Holiday Inn was free but it required a permit and it was sometimes hard to find a spot. Getting in to the hotel lot requires either a U-turn or knowing that you can duck in at the light on the freeway exit ramp. Finding the southbound on-ramp of the freeway you exit traveling northbound to get to this hotel requires a seeing eye dog, a mining permit, a GPS, and military-trained navigator on the phone. No free breakfast, limited pool hours, the teeny, tiny bathroom and lack of cleanliness conspired to make me wish I had spent a few extra bucks and stayed at the Hampton where I spent my first two nights in DC.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virtvacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This property has been remodeled in the last year. However, there are a few general maintenance items that need to be checked in some of the rooms. We stayed on the 7th floor and the electrical outlet on one of the lamps was very loose and is a potential shock hazard. Amazing since this place was just remodeled. The television was unplugged and was probably done by housekeeping and never hooked up again. The final two things were the shower handle screw was very loose and the handle was very shaky -- again from a remodeled hotel.

There is a "drop ceiling" in the bathroom and there is quite a buildup of black MOLD that was pretty disgusting. I think that the hotel management should do a good bleaching in each room since there is not an exhaust fan -- a major problem where there is so much humidity.

When you are in the bathroom you can hear EVERY word being said in the rooms around you through the vent. And, I mean every word. You should probably close the bathroom door and not talk to anyone while in the bathroom.

The general condition of the rooms was very good. I would stay there again, but only if some of the issues above are corrected.

Room Tip: One side of the building faces east and the other west. I would opt for the east side because summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libertyva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing