We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to get to Washington!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location to get to Washington!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September, 2011 and thought it was decent value for the great location. Right across the street (literally within sight of the hotel) is where the train comes that goes past the airport right into downtown Washington. It was perfect for us as we wanted to park our car at the hotel and go sight seeing. We stayed for three days, two nights and found it to be excellent as as fairly cheap hotel mostly used for just sleeping. We had a room with two doubles and no view due to the location of the roof at the front of the hotel, but we didn't mind as we still had sunlight and really there isn't too much to see in this area of interest from a balcony.

The trip into Washington was maybe 20 minutes and you got to see some nice views along the way as the train is aboveground most of the way. It actually stops at the airport so that is perfect for people who fly into the area.

The hotel itself was okay. Gentlemen at the reception were very nice and we checked in late in the evening without a problem. Yes, the hotel is slightly dated but I've stayed in worse Holiday Inns before. We never ate at the restaurant as there are several just across the street. We felt very safe walking around this area which was a main concern for us travelling alone as a young couple. I had read a LOT of bad reviews of other hotels in the Washington area so this place seemed perfect compared to the other options.

The hotel is located right off the highway. Unfortunately when we went there was a lot of construction going on which made for a few u-turns but it was eventually supposed to be right off the highway so hopefully that is all done now. This did not impact us and there was no noise in the hotel, it was nice and quiet.

Overall I would say this is a great hotel option if you are driving/flying to see Washington and want to be able to take the public transit into the city. The fares were very cheap compared to other cities I've been to and the subway system is great and very easy to navigate. As long as you get a decent rate, this would definitely be a hotel that I would recommend. We are planning to come back and stay here again next time we visit the Washington area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenniiibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    112
    50
    17
    15
See reviews for
88
46
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

First visit in 20 years, came with granddaughter and mother and had some ideas about what we wanted to see and do. However ideas do not always match the real thing...driving, weather and crowds effected our visit, but the one constant during our 5 day visit was the staff - always courteous and ready to provide information, suggestions and a ride to the local CVS when we returned to the hotel after a full day of walking, sightseeing and alot of aches and pains! This hotel represents true hospitality! Thanks to everyone for providing us with the best of care...clean, appealing room, tasty food and prompt service for every request. And yes the location could not have been better...metro could be seen from our hotel window. We had a great stay and the staff deserves all the credit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
232 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We live in Southern Maryland, so we decided to the park & fly and plus get free shuttle to the airport.
The room was clean and looked like the hotel had been refreshed. Priority members get a nice bag of treats to take to your room. The tv now has more channets, you get a fridge and microwave.
We were on a corner of the hotel and we had no problems getting a good nights rest.
The bathroom was very compact although clean, no exhaust. I would stay there again for just one night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Convient location. next to a.metro station. service in the dutch grill resturant could be better. Pool is only open from 3-11 but it has a lifeguard. Overall stay was good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbgalccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed here for a few weeks on business. The best thing about this hotel is the staff! Every staff member was friendly and willing to help me with anything. The shuttle service was great too - they will take you to and from the airport, as well as Old Town Alexandria. The hotel is also less than a 5 minute walk from a Metro station. Unfortunately I worked long hours and only had time to use it on the weekends, but it was nice that it was so close. My room was nice and clean, beds comfortable, and water pressure strong. My room faced the highway and the road noise bothered me a few times (it seemed like there was significant traffic almost 24 hours a day). It was also pretty easy to hear guests in the next room, but that didn't bother me too much. I ate at the restaurant twice, but I really wouldn't recommend it to others. It was convenient, but expensive. There are a bunch of restaurants across the street that are more reasonably priced. The only other complaint I have is the laundry facilities. I didn't pack a lot of clothes because I read that the hotel had free guest laundry facilities. While this is true, there was only one washer and one dryer for the entire hotel (195 rooms). It was hard to find a time when they weren't in use, although that might not be as big of a problem if you have a more flexible schedule than I did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank braidedstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed overnight for visit to D.C. This property has been recently remodeled and everything seems fresh. On the positive side are the numerous tv channels (100+), fast elevators, a refrigerator/microwave in every room, and nice pillows and towels. I liked that a maintenance request form was placed in the guest guide. Also, the indoor pool looked nice even though I didn't use it, and the hotel is located near a Metro station and major highways. I was on the ninth floor and had no noise issues.

On the negative side was the very compact bathroom. Also a negative is the fact that Holiday Inn charges $6.95+ for the standard continental breakfast that is included at no charge for competitor chains. The lobby seemed a bit small as well.

That said, my stay was totally acceptable with no issues. Yet there was nothing that made me want to stay here again. Should I visit the area again I would look at other hotels, but I could be comfortable with staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Lee S,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your room accommodations and that our amenities are at par with your expectations. We apologize you were not fully satisfied with the cost of our breakfast options. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our California high school group stayed at this Holiday Inn for two nights during a field trip to the northeast. The hotel was overall clean and rooms were nicely decorated, and our students really enjoyed the indoor pool. The rate we paid was a bit pricey, but the location made it worthwhile - only a block or so from the Metro Rail station. The group had a nice dinner at Ruby Tuesday across the street, which was also convenient. The hotel offered a hot breakfast in the restaurant, but it was too expensive for our students' budgets. The free continental breakfast they provided was nothing but terrible - sugary cereal and even more sugary muffins! The hotel's location close to Metro Rail is its main selling point.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GroupLeaderSJHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing