We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Totally acceptable yet unremarkable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Totally acceptable yet unremarkable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed overnight for visit to D.C. This property has been recently remodeled and everything seems fresh. On the positive side are the numerous tv channels (100+), fast elevators, a refrigerator/microwave in every room, and nice pillows and towels. I liked that a maintenance request form was placed in the guest guide. Also, the indoor pool looked nice even though I didn't use it, and the hotel is located near a Metro station and major highways. I was on the ninth floor and had no noise issues.

On the negative side was the very compact bathroom. Also a negative is the fact that Holiday Inn charges $6.95+ for the standard continental breakfast that is included at no charge for competitor chains. The lobby seemed a bit small as well.

That said, my stay was totally acceptable with no issues. Yet there was nothing that made me want to stay here again. Should I visit the area again I would look at other hotels, but I could be comfortable with staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Lee S,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your room accommodations and that our amenities are at par with your expectations. We apologize you were not fully satisfied with the cost of our breakfast options. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    123
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
98
53
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our California high school group stayed at this Holiday Inn for two nights during a field trip to the northeast. The hotel was overall clean and rooms were nicely decorated, and our students really enjoyed the indoor pool. The rate we paid was a bit pricey, but the location made it worthwhile - only a block or so from the Metro Rail station. The group had a nice dinner at Ruby Tuesday across the street, which was also convenient. The hotel offered a hot breakfast in the restaurant, but it was too expensive for our students' budgets. The free continental breakfast they provided was nothing but terrible - sugary cereal and even more sugary muffins! The hotel's location close to Metro Rail is its main selling point.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GroupLeaderSJHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I travel to DC on business once a month and I love this hotel. It is in a great location, which will improve as soon as the road construction ends. Service at the Desk was always prompt and efficient. Room was very clean, roomy and very comfortable.

The only downside was the Restaurant. It was seriously understaffed for breakfast. The wait staff worked very hard, but they had to do everything from seat, serve, bus and check out. No Supervisor to be seen or to pick up the Hosting and Check duties that would have really improved the overall service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel was very close to the metro, so the convenience alone would cause me to book again while visiting Washington DC. We used the metro to visit DC and Old Town, where there is a free trolley to King Street, awesome!

The indoor pool was heated and clean and a big bonus!

The hotel was clean and safe, and I did not hear the traffic or other guests. The other guests included some school groups, but we were well enough away to only hear them in the lobby when were were leaving or coming back!

The staff was courteous and helpful for the most part. Here are the exceptions: As we arrived during the evening (11pm) after 5 hours in the car, the night desk clerk could have been a bit more courteuous and helpful. He said we didn't have a reservation and I had to pull out my Hotels.com printout while he scowled at me. Then when I asked about the location of the metro, he vaguely pointed at the front of the hotel and grunted.

After a long drive, the beds and pillows were a dream! Second night too, so I know that it was not just being overtired.

The restaurant is to be avoided. We waited about 15 minutes to be seated for breakfast. The restaurant was not full to capacity but slightly busy. We were seated, but no one came to take our order for 40 minutes. I tried making eye contact with various waitstaff and even calling out, but we were ignored, as the waitstaff for what I could see, wandered around aimlessly. The overworked hostess finally came to us and was suprised we didn't have our food, let alone hadn't had our order taken. She took our order. After that, a waiter came with bread - cold underdone toast - and told us it came with our meal. We got our drinks, minus a water, and it took about 10 minutes more after that to get water. By the time we got our food, the restaurant had almost cleared out, except for the line waiting to be seated. The hostess was trying to clear tables, get orders and placate other diners as, again, the waitstaff seemed to be hiding or wandering around. After more than an hour to get some eggs and bacon - which was very good, by the way - we were given 25% off our meal, comped our drinks and kids meal. The hostess was apologetic and courteous.

I always give someone a second chance. We headed down for breakfast the next morning (with an alternate in mind just in case). There was a line to be seated and we were told that the wait to be seated would be 10 minutes. There were two tables seated, the rest empty. Another family in line told us they had already been there 10 minutes and were told they needed to clean tables. Once again the hostess was hurring around, clearing and wiping down tables while I observed the same waitstaff wandering around. We decided to go with our alternate and left.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to stay if you are visiting Washington DC and the surrounding area. There are places to eat right across the street, which I would recommend visiting. They would be well advised to take a look at the running of the restaurant because it would have greatly enhanced our stay if it was run properly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel had several things I like all in one place....indoor pool (but no jacuzzi, darn it), rooms with microwaves and fridges (hard to find in some business hotels), a bar, and a restaurant, room service, airport shuttle, and it was pretty close to most of DC. (I'd planned to go to Raleigh and I couldn't find any hotels with an indoor pool, fridge and microwave, how weird is that?) It also had great access to the metro and was near that pretty little area called Carlysle for a nice walkabout.

ALso on the upside, it had one of the best indoor hotel pools, with lifeguard, I've seen in awhile, twice as big as most, with an 8 ft deep end, and water temp was great.

On the downside, the restaurant organization could use some work. That was their real weak point. The staff all was working hard but service was chaotic and orders were wrong. I sort of thought I was in Fawlty Towers for meals. It was a little better off-peak hours, thank heavens, but that really needs work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guestNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear sedonalass,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you visited the restaurant, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. I was pleased to hear the rest of your stay was great and you did enjoy our great pool area. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forest hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

This hotel turned out to be better than expected. First, the room we were given was updated and clean, with comfortable beds. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but had great water pressure and lots of thick, fluffy towels. The indoor pool was heated, and was a wonderful way for our two young kids to relax after a day of sightseeing in D.C. Finally, the location of this hotel can't be beat. The hotel is literally a stone's throw from the metro, which takes you into D.C. proper in under 15 minutes. And across from the metro station is a Starbucks, a movie theater, and wonderful restaurants (highly recommend Yves' Bistro for classic French fare and Galaie Thai for Thai food and sushi). Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sireneuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Read the reviews of this hotel before booking this hotel. There were three reasons for choosing this hotel: close to a metro station (3 min walk), a rate lower than the standard government rate and nicely updated property. I was unable to check in before noon, but got a parking permit before heading to a meeting. Once I checked in, I was surprised to get a suite (two baths and a huge living area). I was able to sleep well despite the constant noises from the beltway (I-95) nearby. The breakfast was tasty. There is nothing to complain about this hotel. But there are many nicer properties to choose in the area, especially, the quieter ones.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMXlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing