We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Holiday Inn...wonderful staff, very helpful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Holiday Inn...wonderful staff, very helpful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stay about a dozen times a year. This hotel is well managed, rooms are quite nice, beds VERY luxurious and comfy. Free shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria, which is a mile away; a walk down King Street is a sweet adventure...wonderful shops and restaurants (of every variety). Also there's a metro station next door (easy trip into DC). And right there, within two blocks of the hotel, are many nice restaurants...Ted's Montana Grill and Yves's Bistro to name a few...there are Thai places and also chains like Ruby Tuesday and some tex-mex places. Become a Priority Club member and the prices get better and free upgrades are available. Weekends are cheap! Business week...that costs much more.

Room Tip: Priority Club members do well here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    112
    50
    17
    15
See reviews for
88
46
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We spent a night here and it was perfect for us.
The room was older but very clean and had been updated. We were on the 8th floor and had great views. The beds and pillows were great. It had a small fridge and microwave.
It was so quiet I do not know if anyone else was on our floor. There were a couple busses of school children, but I never saw or heard them.
At check out I was told we could leave our car there till midnight that night. We walked less than five minutes to the Eisenhower Metro station and spent the day sightseeing. After about a 30 minute ride back, we walked next door to the hotel and left.
I would highly recommend this hotel. The area was safe and the hotel was great and very convenient to downtown DC. We used Entertainment card and the price was amazingly low for DC.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms that did not face the metro station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyfromtennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here for the price ($99/night at the time) and it's location near a Metro. The hotel was an OK stay. The staff was nice and helpful when we wanted to check in early. They allowed us to store our bags and my husbands bicycle for the tour he just rode in (Police Unity Tour).

We had breakfast one morning. The food was good and staff friendly. I had milk for my baby that went bad, and they were nice enough to give us milk for her bottles.

The room was clean for the most part. There were some spots of mold in the shower and parts of the ceiling that were slightly damaged from repeated exposure to steam and wetness.

The metro is right next store. You need to walk across the their parking lot, across a road (highway off ramp), and a parking lots length up to the station. Across from the station is a area with various restaurtants and a movie theater. There was some police action at the Friendly's and movie theater, but there were other nice places to eat.

Free parking.

Room Tip: I kept checking and checking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerofan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The only nice thing I can really say is that it is a good location, next to the metro,. We had so many problems that it became a joke of what would go wrong next. This hotel needs a major renovation, the bathroom tap cut my hand, for two nights the air conditioner was blowing cigarette smoke into the room they finally had to give us a new room Some of the staff are very good but the few cannot make up for the rest.
the shuttle was nice but be careful on taking a town car instead of a cab because the town car really ripped us off by at least $10.00!
The queen size beds were awful but the king was better once they moved us. I am not a complainer but holy cow what a mess. room service brought the wrong breakfast and argued about it and then when we returned to our room at 10:30 pm the tray was still there waiting for us, i guess it was not the maids job to do that.
I cant say that the price was that good to have such a crappy stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this facility for one night while touring DC. Our primary desire for the hotel was a location close to a metro station and on the outskirts of town. The metro station was right next door! We had no problems checking in and the staff was helpful. The room was outdated with a very small bathroom but was clean. The only real complaint I have is the bed was SO uncomfortable. The mattress must be as old as the decor. They put some kind of topper on it which I imagine was supposed to make it better but it didn't. One of the worst night's sleeps I have had in a while.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vatravels825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is an older hotel with small, dark rooms that have been renovated and have comfortable beds. The service here is very friendly and courteous. One big plus is that this hotel is right next to a Metro station. One minus is all the work being done on the nearby highway....I've stayed here 3 times, and each time the route to the hotel was different. There is free parking, but you need to get a pass from the desk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and thought the hotel was great. Had no problems checking in, the staff were really helpful. Explored old town Alexandria and the nearby cinema and restaurants. Good location to explore washington less then 20 mins on the metro yellow line. A great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TambuRani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing