We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Western New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Everything was fine, staff was friendly, no problems with check in or out. Breakfast was fine. Room was very clean, bathroom was absolutely gleaming. Comfy bed. The room furnishings looked like we were the first-ever occupants. Lots of free parking. Another reviewer said the breakfast area was small. I thought the seating area had a lot of room, but the buffet itself was a little slowed down by 2 or 3 people making waffles. I have seen people in other hotels making waffles and they don't seem to work right, but these seemed to be coming out very good. Very minor point is that I prefer actual scrambled eggs as opposed to the pre-made omelet style eggs that are served here, but that is a tiny issue. We paid $94/night (AAA rate) and in DC I think that is a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WNYFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    215
    45
    9
    5
See reviews for
340
175
29
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Alexandria/DC area. It is close to many stores and restaurants. It is only a few miles from Old Town Alexandria which is beautiful. This hotel far exceeded my expectations for cleanliness and helpfulness of staff. Rooms were clean/modern and stocked with a microwave, fridge, safe, and bath amenities. Fitness center was free, clean, and easily accessible. The continental breakfast runs from 6-10 am and had a range of fruits, cereals, oatmeal, and hot items every morning. Oh and waffles! Also there is always coffee, fruit, and cookies out all day. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to/from the King Street metro. The shuttle runs every 30 minutes and it takes about 10-15 minutes to get to the metro on the shuttle. It was super convenient for us because driving into DC would have been nuts. The shuttle starts at 8 am and picks up the last guests from the metro at 9:30 pm. Not a thing I could complain about during my stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Authers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Alexandria/DC area. It is close to many stores and restaurants. It is only a few miles from Old Town Alexandria which is beautiful. This hotel far exceeded my expectations for cleanliness and helpfulness of staff. Rooms were clean/modern and stocked with a microwave, fridge, safe, and bath amenities. Fitness center was free, clean, and easily accessible. The continental breakfast runs from 6-10 am and had a range of fruits, cereals, oatmeal, and hot items every morning. Oh and waffles! Also there is always coffee, fruit, and cookies out all day. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to/from the King Street metro. The shuttle runs every 30 minutes and it takes about 10-15 minutes to get to the metro on the shuttle. It was super convenient for us because driving into DC would have been nuts. The shuttle starts at 8 am and picks up the last guests from the metro at 9:30 pm. Not a thing I could complain about during my stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Authers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel well maintained and room was very clean. Good location just outside the DC beltway. Shuttle service to metro station was good and prompt. Breakfast was good however it was hard to find a table each morning and the food serving area was a little small. Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our stay was mostly nice. The shuttle bus to the Metro was amazing, on time, convenient and frequent with polite drivers. The breakfast was good, if a bit crowded, with the workers getting in the way too much. Our room was a little small (and I had wanted Queen beds and they didn't have them 2 to a room) but the micro, the fridge and the WiFi were great. WiFi a bit slow. All and all, it was a good stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The room itself was pretty basic but clean. I like the easy to reach outlets on the bedside table and the nice sized TV. We were quite comfortable in our room and the staff were excellent. We were there for 5 nights and the daytime staff were usually in good humour despite being very busy. There is a free shuttle between the Metro station into DC and the hotel. We used it everyday and found it to be a bit confusing as to when we could get our tickets and when we had to wait. But we were there at the height of tourist season and only once did we not get to the shuttle time we wanted.

The breakfast was average, but it filled the hole. I did enjoy returning in the evening to complimentary tea/coffee and cookies. Nice touch. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Rare to find a hotel in this area that includes breakfast, internet, free parking, refrigerator and microwave in room, fitness center/pool. Also has shuttle to metro, but I did not use this service. Probably an even better value for weekend stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing