We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
187 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting family, nice staff and clean hotel. Swimming pool had a life guard on duty, which you never see at non resorts. Breakfast was what you have come to expect, table and food area were kept clean by staff. Location was great but I was driving. They had a shuttle that you had to sign up for as space was limited. I will with out doubt stay here next time I'm in the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank deeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    212
    45
    9
    5
See reviews for
335
172
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria/Pentagon South, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel was a quick 10 minute drive to all downtown DC attractions, as well as numerous attractions in Arlington. It was conveniently within a couple miles off the highway. The hotel was very clean and well decorated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing and getting a good night sleep is always a guarantee. Hampton beds are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on! I have stayed at many different hotels, but in my opinion, Hampton Inn is by far the best choice. It is reasonably priced, always clean, fantastic bedding, and a full hot breakfast is included!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

A nice, friendly staff. A comfortable and clean place to stay. It was a little difficult sometimes to get the shuttle, but it was nice to have it. The breakfast was really nice. The rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusk, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay! The staff was very accommodating and eager to please. The room was very spacious and clean. We felt very comfortable for the 3 days we stayed there.
The FREE shuttle service they provide was a godsend. Knowing that our car was safe in their free parking lot made it easier for us to sight see without worrying about paying for parking, and maybe not having a parking space available. You can drive to most of the places we visited, but trying to find parking in downtown Washington DC would have been a nightmare. The shuttle provides rides not only to the Metro Station, which will get you close to all of the attractions, but they also will shuttle you to some of the local restaurants and fast food places. When you return to the Metro Station, a phone call to the desk was all it took to have a shuttle there to pick you up, usually within 10 or 15 minutes.
The beds were clean and comfortable, and the amenities were great with coffee maker, microwave, full size refrigerator and stove in the kitchen. There was also a nice size dining table with seating for 6. The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels.
Not only was there a free breakfast every morning with a wide assortment of breakfast items available, there was also a complimentary dinner served in the evenings, which was a pleasant surprise.
The only problem we encountered was when we tried to use the Guest Laundry facilities to wash our clothes. The detergent dispensing machine was broken, one of the six washing machines was broken, and 3 of the 6 clothes dryers were also broken. The other thing that would have been helpful to those wanting to do their laundry would be to have a Change Making machine. Having to dig through pockets and purses to find enough quarters to both wash and dry was tedious and frustrating.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely, but I would hope that they will have the laundry facilities in better repair by then.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great hotel, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, had a great variety for breakfast, had cookies out for the evening and a coffee station all day, the room has a bunch of extra outlets which is very nice. The thing that impressed us about this hotel was ALL of the staff we encountered at this hotel would always smile, super friendly people! They were always willing to show us helpful hints on what to see and the best way to get there. They offer a shuttle service to take you to the metro and will pick up at certain times from the metro. They also have a life guard at the pool even though it's not that deep (5 feet) it's still comforting to know that someone is there if you need it. I would highly recommend this hotel if visiting the DC area!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacationmomof3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We loved this little hotel from the moment we arrived. Room was ready on time. The rooms were very clean. The shuttle service to the metro was excellent. Only a short trip to metro. Breakfast was busy, but good. My entire family loved the cookie bar left out each night. We did not use the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My only real issue was the price was much too high - I spent 5 nights at a Homewood Suites prior to this stay, and the Homewood charge was $800 and change, and we spent 3 nights here and spent over $600, and at Homewood, we had a suite, kitchen and much better accommodations for less money, and this hotel didn't even have a guest laundry

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing