We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to 395, pleasant stays, loud trash truck!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Southern US
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Convenient to 395, pleasant stays, loud trash truck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice, both because I was in town for work. I used to live not too far away from this hotel when I lived in Arlington and knew the neighborhood was safe, and the prices beat those that are closer in in more touristy areas. Also free parking, a great perk for the DC area. The downside is that it is not close to a metro and is not right downtown near the tourist spots, although it appears a shuttle will take you to a metro stop. Both times I planned to drive into DC for work purposes, and if the traffic is not too horrible during rush hour, it should take less than 30 minutes to get downtown depending on where you want to go. Probably less than 30 minutes during non rush hour. Of course rush hour lasts forever in DC!

The property itself is in good shape, clean and the rooms were nice as you would expect from a Hampton. Nice bathroom and fixtures, plenty of towels.

I preferred the room that faced the main street rather than the room more toward the back of the property that faced apartments. The only reason for this is because on the night I was in that room (a Thursday), at about 5 am Friday morning the trash truck came and the beeps from the truck from backing up were incredibly piercing. And seemed to last forever - how much trash could there be?? Absolutely no need for an alarm after that!

Room Tip: Face the main street. Try and avoid rooms near the dumpsters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziQ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    182
    40
    7
    5
See reviews for
292
141
26
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We enjoyed our 3-day stay. Hampton Inns are our hotel of choice and this one did not disappoint. Having free parking saves a lot of money as does the free breakfast each morning. The room was clean and the location was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville, NY, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Excellent hotel. Very clean rooms with all the conveniences. Continental breakfast was very good. The location to where our daughter lives was spot on, and although our stay was on the holiday weekend, everything was as if we were the only ones staying in the hotel. Excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were meeting family from Penn. to pick up our neice and bring her to visit in NC. Since my travel buddy had never seen DC we wanted to be able to make a quick hop into the city. This was a great location. Free shuttle to the Metro and away from the bussier area of town. This hotel was a great choice. Very clean rooms, good breakfast and GREAT staff. Oh and did I mention FREE parking. Just wish we had more time to visit Alexandria...such a nice town. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The problem with the room was the shower and sink water temperatures. They were not working properly. The sink cold water was warm and the shower water was just barely warm. This was not resolved. The hotel was otherwise fine! We just didn't enjoy taking a cool shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorene S, Manager at Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are very sorry for the the problem you experienced, Thank you for your feedback regarding our water temperature. We know how important a hot shower is and your comments will help us to improve the situation so that others do not experience the same concern. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and experience our true Hamptonality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here while visiting washington DC. I selected it because I like the consistency of Hampton Inns, it passed the bed bug registry test, and for being so close to DC in the high season, the rates were very affordable. We needed two rooms for 7 people.
The hotel staff and management here are superior. What a difference it makes to have the people at the front desk so cheerful, friendly, helpful and welcoming! The facility is clean as a whistle throughout. The breakfast area is very nice and was well stocked. The rooms in this hotel are smaller than typical for a Hampton, and there are no queen beds-something I found is the case throughout the DC area! Only King or double. We were very cramped in one room-a king with sofa bed, no room at all for a cot for the teenager. If we were traveling with just two or three, it would be plenty spacious. The rooms were well appointed, exceptionally clean, and quiet. The pool is outdoors, has an accessiblity hoist, there is no hot tub.
This hotel is very near to easy access to the freeway into DC, and near the subway station (there is a free shuttle to the subway/train station) so while traffic is very heavy certain times of day, the access is as good as one can ask. There are many fine restaurants and family restaurants as well as a superb healthy grocery store and a mall nearby.
I was exceptionally pleased with this hotel and plan to make it our home away from home any time we travel to DC.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool can be noisy when shrill kids are playing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When visiting DC, don't overlook this Hampton Inn. I stayed here a couple of nights while attending training in Old Town Alexandria and found the place to be very clean, comfortable, and convenient. They have a regular shuttle service that starts at 7a and runs every half hour to the metro station in the morning. In the afternoon, the shuttle starts at 3:30 and runs until 9p. There is a complimentary breakfast in the morning which I found adequate, and coffee that you could get pretty much all day. So, why pay Old Town Alexandria hotel rates and have to pay for parking, when you could just be a little ways down King Street and save some money? Also, the staff were super friendly and helpful, and this place was clean!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank levh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 52 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing