We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you don't mind shuttle / metro to get to things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Unexpectedly nice room... Expectedly nice staff who smile a lot..:)... Convenient shuttle to the metro stop works well for vacations without a rental car. Highly recommended except for the typical dull breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 899 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Arrived to a easy parking lot, easy friendly check in, comfortable room for three. Enjoyed large variety breakfast and a on the go breakfast bag. Easy check out. We will be back again... Avoid the T.G.I.F restaurant across the street... just awful!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the lower floor room.. no fuss with the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunchgirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This hotel provided everything that we needed for our girl's weekend to DC. Our family was traveling from New York, North Carolina and Baltimore and we were looking for a centrally located, easy access from Interstates and close to a Metro Station. I-395/I-95 ramps are a couple of blocks away. The nearest Metro (King Street) was about 4 miles towards Old Town Alexandria. The parking at this Metro was a little confusing with metered parking available (25 cents/15 minutes...free on Saturdays and Sundays) or garage parking across the street (max $17/day).
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful to us with room accomodations and directions. Upon learning that other family members were also staying there, they changed our room number so that we would be close together. They provided directions to the metro station (along with a map) and airport and also gave suggestions on what to see and do.
The 5 star part of this hotel was the hot breakfast. Omelets, home fries, fresh hot oatmeal with toppings, waffles, pastries, fresh fruit. Breakfast hours were listed as starting at 6 but the staff was getting things together well before then. Everything was kept very clean, organized and well stocked. Coffee and tea available 24 hours.
We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have been a Hilton Honors member since 2002 and have almost always had comfortable beds, warm showers, and pleasant bathrooms at the Hampton Inns I visit. This property measures up in all three categories, especially the bathroom, with its nice vanity with dark formica top and dark wood cabinet. But the most impressive element of my stay was the hot breakfast meal just before our departure in the morning.
They had only two pastries, a moist, fresh coffee cake cut into double-bite-sized servings, and standard (not overlarge) blueberry muffins. But unlike many Hampton Inns , where if you don't show in the first two hours they run out of pastry choices, the cake and muffins were always there. It looks like three staffers attend to this breakfast bar, and it showed the Friday morning we were there. People came constantly, but the two pastries were in ready supply. And instead of your standard instant oatmeal (just add hot water), they offered fresh oatmeal in a huge container. Pour it with the big scoop and then add your choice of brown sugar, raisins, and nuts. The hot scrambled eggs seemed a little stiff, but the bacon was crisp and the hot waffle maker performed well. Pre-made French toasts sticks were also available.
Amazingly the eating area has 18 tables seating two to four guests, and in the center a long table has eight tall chairs, four on each side, where solo guests can eat. There is plenty of room for everyone--no one waits for someone to finish and no one has to ask to share a table. It does not feel crowded. A 50-inch flat-screen TV can be seen from anywhere in the room. One staffer even handed out little boxes of mints to the guests who were seated.
My family and I had a good night's sleep in our king bed (sleeps three) and double sofa bed for my wife and I. The 32-inch flat screen showed a slam dunk contest and three-point competition in beautiful high definition.
The only downside I saw on this property is that most of the parking is in the back, with some parking on both sides and less parking available in the front. This means many guests have to walk some to get to the door. They have a pool as well, which we did not see. But for a good breakfast, good seating, and even complementary mints, this hot breakfast can't be beat.
This property is only two blocks to the onramp for I-395 that leads to Arlington National Cemetery and downtown Washington D.C.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndyJim49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable. The free breakfast each morning offered lots of variety and was always good. The only drawback was the shocking lack of customer service at the front desk of all places! The front desk employees never greeted guests as they came and went through the lobby. They were extremely UNhelpful in offering directions or advice. The price was good, but their front desk employees need to learn some things about the hospitality business if they are going to be successful in this business.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Luvmyfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a very nice Hampton Inn within a reasonable driving distance of DC and a great room for the price. The first impression of the surrounding area leaves a little to be desired but once inside the hotel it is a first class Hampton. The rooms are very clean, as are the lobby and breakfast area. The included breakfast is also quite good. No complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at this motel while visiting our daughter on Capitol Hill. The all-inclusive room price was @ $87 per night for a three-night stay from Friday to Monday, which was very reasonable compared to the prices of hotels closer in to town. However, it did take anywhere from fifteen to twenty minutes to get across the Potomac to Capitol Hill from Alexandria. This was also one of the few Hampton Inns in which I stayed where I could hear voices in the next room. The breakfast was normal fare for a Hampton Inn, and they also had cookies and coffee available all hours of the day or night and a complementary USA Today.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbarney1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 54 in Alexandria
807 reviews
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
4 mi away
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.8 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $93 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing