We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, adequate accomodation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Alexandria
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable price, adequate accomodation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I was visiting Washington DC for 4 nights and I got this hotel at a very affordable price ($70 per night) which is a rare find.
The first night I spent in this hotel I felt depressed because the room was too old and I felt that my vacation is ruined already! But the next day I started my morning by a walk to Old Town Alexandria, I was breath taken! I absolutely love it. Being a 10 min walk from there is a HUGE plus for this hotel, you will get to appreciate it, plus it is also a 10 min walk from the metro station, only one station away from Ronald Reagan Intl. Airport, such a convenient location!
I did not get to spend much time in the room anyways so I grew to love the hotel, by time, for all what it offered me (location-wise) but if you plan to spend a lot of time in your room or if you want to pamper yourself by staying in a nice fancy hotel you will definitely be disappointed!!
The area is safe, I saw many women walking alone till late at night. Obviously safety is not an issue.
Free Hi speed internet worked consistently with no problems and speed was good.
One thing to be aware of though is that there is no iron in the room. If you need to iron your clothes you will have to borrow one from reception and give it back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear_On_Patrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    89
    48
    64
See reviews for
59
61
42
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Good enough sleeping quarters when visiting DC. The hotel is quite outdated, rooms would need upgrading, and "breakfast" options are very, very limited, but for the price paid (I paid $70) versus $200-$300 to stay in downtown DC, this is a good option. The hotel is 6 blocks from Braddock Road station, and although some reviews mentioned this being a bad neighborhood with housing projects, I can tell you I didn't feel the least bit threatened in anyway. And if you keep walking towards waterfront, you're right in middle of Old Alexandria, which is charming and historic. Bathroom is very small, and it might take 5-10 mins to get hot water, there is free wifi, free in-room safe. So, if looking for something very cheap, and you're not too demanding, this might be the place for you. Go there with low expectations, and you should be fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcsklabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed here for three nights while visiting Washington DC. This place was great! They are right across the street from Starbucks, so breakfast was no problem. The train with two lines to Washington is just six blocks away. The room was huge, and comfortable, and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramslibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I have seen a lot of negative reviews of this place, and I was a little hesitant right before our trip (after I booked it for 3 nights with no refund). All I can say now is that the Travelodge is a really affordable and comfortable place to stay. The location is awesome and the only negative thing I agreed with from other reviews was that the electrical system could barely handle the hair dryer. Our room was always cleaned and the bathroom was fine. We only took part in the breakfast once, and to be honest, why would eat there when you're in Alexandria??? If you're used to expensive hotels, then yes, you would be disappointed. But if you need a place just to sleep, get ready, and relax, you can't get much better than this place if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etcsucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed with my sister for three nights in March. Hotel is about a ten minute walk from Braddock Road Metro station, but it then takes around half an hour on the Metro to reach major tourist locations such as the Mall/Smithsonian/White House. It is convenient for the Pentagon and Arlington though.

We had just stayed at a very nice Holiday Inn in Boston so maybe it was just the sudden comparison, but the Travelodge seemed a bit shabby. The decor is quite dated, the quilts on the bed were bobbled and the towels seemed thin. It was all clean enough but was showing age and wear. Okay just for sleeping and using as a base to store your luggage but you wouldn't want to spend any sort of quality time there.

The complimentary breakfast is served in a room next door to the hotel, and really isn't worth the bother. Two types of cereal, concentrated orange juice and some rather stale tasting donuts. After day one we just ignored it and went across the street to a Starbucks. There is a Giant foodstore (smallish supermarket) about a ten minute walk away and several gas stations on the same road as the hotel, plus a chinese restaurant, pizza place, etc so you won't starve!

If I was visiting Washington again I probably wouldn't stay here and would look for somewhere a bit nicer within the same price range, but I would recommend it to anyone looking for a budget place to crash for a day or two with the warning that it's quite dated and nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alocin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Arrived at hotel on a hot August afternoon after a ten minute walk from the Braddock Road Metro station. Property is only two stories with limited free parking. Check-in was smooth and friendly. My room was on the second floor; a spacious two bedroom with student-size fridge, microwave and coffee-maker. Air conditioning in the room was fantastic; quiet and cool. Everything in the room was clean and functional. Breakfast is 7:30-9:30 am; I did not have time to evaluate. Starbucks, Trader Joe, other stores are a short walk away. A previous review noted public housing in the area; it is low-rise public housing and well maintained. The neighborhood in general is middle class. If you do not mind staying at an older property, this is a low cost alternative to the high-priced hotels in D.C.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Hotel is in severe need of maintenance. Funny smells; nonsmoking rooms smell like smoke and vinegar. Noisy. It looked like the maid had made a valiant effort to clean the room, but the paint, carpets, etc. were just too old and worn to be cleaned. Electrical system out of date and not up to code; my hair dryer dimmed the lights!

Location is about 7 blocks north of Old Town Alexandria (King Street) and 7 shorter blocks east of the Braddock Metro. (I needed to use the Metro to get around DC, because I was going to multiple downtown locations and it's virtually impossible to park.) The walk to the Metro from the motel takes you past public housing projects. The projects are thinly disguised by colonial brick facades (probably required by local development codes) but the behavior of the people hanging around outside left no doubt as to the character of the neighborhood.... I felt I had to tread carefully, especially after dark.

Frankly, if I didn't need a cheap room on short notice I never would have stayed here. But given the absolutely, totally ridiculous prices of DC hotels -- especially if you don't book long in advance -- I grinned and bore it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ITManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#19 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Kimpton Morrison House
#15 of 52 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Alexandria

Property: Travelodge Alexandria
Address: 700 N Washington St, Washington St & Wythe St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1925
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Travelodge Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Travel Lodge
Alexandria Travelodge
Travel Lodge Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing