We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Alexandria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Alexandria
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The rooms & especially the bathrooms are seriously run down. The whole place needs urgent refurbishing. Had to change room beause water was dripping from the ceiling onto the bed !!! I ended up in a smaller room, with a smaller bed, no coffee maker but the price remained the same. The bkft is minimal. A shame for the Travelodge banner. The positive points: close to the Braddock metro station (10 min. walk) with leads directly to the Smithsonian + safe neiborghood. Front desk attendants rather friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you see the room before you pay and avoid the rooms within the hotel so you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    89
    48
    64
See reviews for
59
61
42
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Travelodges are cheap for a reason. They're not 4 star hotels but they get the job done. My stay was one night and it is a few min drive from the nearest metro station. Room was semi-clean. Front desk attendant was nice but creepy. I couldnt tell if he worked there or not. Overall, it did the job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandonoursler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile


I stayed here 3 nights last week. Let's shake it on down:

GOOD:
- about as cheap as a hotel gets if (a) you want to go to DC and your per-person rate makes hostels pricey (b) you don't mind taking 30 minutes to get into the city (10-15m walking +15-20m Metro ride) (c) you have a car to deal with
- despite some reviews stating otherwise, I found the layout (old 2-story brick motel) charming. The area is called Old Town, y'know!
- contrary to a review I read, we did have a fridge which we put to good use
- staff was very friendly. After checking out, I realized I left something in my room. I called the front desk, and the manager left immediately to retrieve my item and called me to confirm it would be waiting for me.
- Alexandria is a nice area to see, and if you want to visit Mount Vernon it's just a 20-minute scenic drive away.

UNGOOD:
- wifi just didn't work. I could connect no problem, but I was not able to send or receive anything unless I turned it off
- breakfast was mostly drab - packaged honey buns, mini bagels, and 2 cereals (though I do give them credit for having Honey Bunches Of Oats)
- there was no way to make a bath (though I only had success with 1 of 4 budget hotels on this trip, so maybe this is a trend)

In the end, the GOOD outweighed the UNGOOD and I'm happy I chose this place. If I come back to the area as a family and with a car, I'll strongly consider this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottInPTC-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I will not be staying here again.
as soon as I walked into the room, I saw a room key on the floor under the table. At one point the smoke detector was replaced, but they left the broken one in the dresser. and on the last night, the bathroom sink would not drain.
when I checked out, I had to push the front desk bell twice.
Only positive thing was it is within walking distance from the Metro Rail

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#15 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morrison House, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Alexandria

Property: Travelodge Alexandria
Address: 700 N Washington St., Washington St & Wythe St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Travelodge Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Travel Lodge
Alexandria Travelodge
Travel Lodge Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing