We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Alexandria
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The first thing we saw in the room was a bug crawling across the bed. They did come and change the sheets right away after we brought the live bug to the front desk.
The bathroom floors had not been cleaned, dirt and hair.
I was not sure if the tub was dirty or just worn, but I knew I should have brought shower shoes.
The door appeared to have been kicked in at some point as there was much damage to the frame where the lock was. There was still a nail only half hammered in.
There was a stain on the mirror frame that was very suspicious.
Yes, it is cheap, but that does not excuse filth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoVaRIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Roma M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Alejandro Aniba... C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This place was a dump. I travel often, and this rates near the bottom of all my hotel stays. The area was sketchy and dark at night--women don't go alone. Breakfast was disgusting-- there was mold inches thick on the bread. Doors only latched closed if you slammed them. Carpet was filthy. Housekeeping would turn off our air conditioner every day, it was 90+ outside and I even left a note to please leave it on. No fridge in the room. Tv wouldn't let us change channels. I could keep going, but I think by now you get the picture. Pictures of hotel on their web site and others are VERY deceiving. Wish I had thought to take pictures. Walk to metro is probably 12 blocks or so--darkkkkk walk through a few rough areas. Don't waste your money, go with something nicer--or you will regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Just1Mooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Yes, it's old and pretty basic, but consider what you're looking for. The rooms are clean and the AC works. If you just want a place to sleep while touring DC this place is fine. Given DC prices this hotel gives you a good value. The Metro is a straight10 minute walk. The Old Towne area is only six blocks away, and provides good food and shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Super 8 Alexandria
#43 of 54 in Alexandria
4 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,508 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Alexandria

Address: 700 N Washington St, Washington St & Wythe St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1925
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $55 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Travelodge
Alexandria Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing