We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room, furnishings--especially the mattress/box...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Alexandria
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed April 20, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 262 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed here the last weekend and, after reading some of the comments below (and after a good laugh at what some people are complaining about), we feel the need to share our experience. All in all, we were satisfied with our stay here.

True, the hotel is somewhat dated, however the flat screen TV and comfortable, firm mattress in our room attests to some recent upgrades. We did not find our room dirty in any way, however we were not rubbing our fingers over the door frame while wearing white gloves.

The location was very good, with an easy 10 minute walk to the metro and another easy 10 minute walk to King Street. Car rental was also conveniently located at the Sheratin hotel, less than two blocks away. We were quite pleased with what the city of Alexandria had to offer and ended up spending more time in town than we originally anticipated (DC was our primary interest).

The fellow who was always (no matter what time it was) at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. the breakfast was nothing to write home about. Far too often items were not available by the time we got down there. Think cereal, juice, tea/coffee and bagels.

Bottom line, if you're going to whine about old decor, not having the right kind of shower head, or your sheets being the wrong color, then go someplace else and spend more money. If you want a comfortable sleep, good service and a reasonable location, all at a good price, then this is for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel itself is not one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at, and we usually stay in these types of hotels. We don't need anything fancy because all we really do is sleep and shower when we stay. It wasn't really dirty, just old and outdated. Most of the hotels we stay in at least look much nicer. The bathroom could really have used some work. I always bring my own shower head just in case there's not enough pressure, and 9 times out of 10, I'm glad I do because I like a lot of pressure and there usually isn't enough. So if you're like me and like a lot of pressure, bring your own shower head and a pair of pliers. It's very east to change and makes all the difference in the world. Two good things I can say - the hot water never ran out and I take 30 minute showers and the bed was very comfortable! There was free wi-fi which was also nice. The breakfast was nothing fancy but it was ok - some cereal, coffee, juice, and some bagels and pastries. The location was ok. A 10 minute walk to the metro and a 10 minute walk to King Street, but the hotel is on a main street and you can hear a lot of noise at night. All in all, it wasn't terrible, but it also wasn't great. If you just need a place to sleep and don't mind an old outdated room, I guess it will do.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Abram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend searched the Internet for a hotel in Washington that met good price , location and reviews. The man who seemed to be an ever present behind reception no matter when we walked through was nice enough . The room was clean enough , could of hoovered under the dresser abit more but as I wasn't going to be rolling around under there I wasn't too fussed . Fixtures and fittings in the room where dated but everything worked perfect . The room smelt abit after we had been out all day but after a minute of nasal adjustment the niff seemed to go . It's located well away from dc but within half hour you can be in the center with a short walk to the metro . Old town Alexandria a short walk to king street is very nice with plenty of nice places to chow down .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-green84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Super 8 Alexandria
#43 of 54 in Alexandria
4 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,508 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Alexandria

Address: 700 N Washington St, Washington St & Wythe St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $55 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Travelodge
Alexandria Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing