We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money, just move beyond the looks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Alexandria
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The room I stayed in for four nights was generally clean, but the carpets and the furniture were very worn and outdated. But I wanted an affordable place in a decent area where I could walk to the metro (about 10-15 minute walk along a normally busy Wyeth Street--the street is not that well light, but the traffic never lets you feel unsafe. The neighborhood is hardly a "bad" one regardless) while on a budget-conscious business trip. This motel fits that bill very well and I would definitely stay there again.

If you are the type of person who expects to see great decor and scratch-free furniture quality, you won't like it here. If looks count so much to you--don't stay here.

I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. The free wi-fi was very good and signal strength was very good. Water flow in bathroom was excellent and the place actually had a working air vent in the bathroom (even the big hotels usually don't have that). It was surprisingly quiet (I was on the second floor). The heating and cooling system was very responsive. The room had a big desk and decent office chair. My bed was firm and I found the pillows to be perfect for my tendency to sleep on my side or stomach.

I really had no complaints because I expected the worn, out-dated look from previous reviewers and I appreciated the amenities and location so near the subway. I was able to stay four nights for less than $300 even with the taxes because I booked early. You can't beat that price for DC. I certainly have paid much more for rooms and got back much less.

Room Tip: I think it would be best to sleep on the second floor to avoid any traffic noises at street level. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crypticphrasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 262 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Decent place. The location of the toilet paper holder in the bathroom was reaaalllyyy bad. I hit my knee on it every morning, and had to sit sideways to use the toilet. Shower water took forever to warm up. Nice people at the front desk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Jasen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed here before due to excellent location: near metro station and Old Town Alexandria. Staff very welcoming. Got in early and we were able to leave our bags while we went about. Old facility but clean. Breakfast included helped to save dollars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Margot C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank DOMINICK P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
WALLINGFORD
1
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
CLEARWATER
1
Reviewed December 14, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Alexandria

Address: 700 N Washington St, Washington St & Wythe St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $55 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Travel Lodge
Alexandria Travelodge
Travel Lodge Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing