We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rooms are pretty tired but price is right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Monroe, NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Rooms are pretty tired but price is right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The outside looks good, as does the lobby. The courtyard area looks nice too. But the room was tired and not very clean either. However it was only $89 plus tax when others close by were twice the price. The breakfast area was clean and the breakfast was better than average. I was glad to only be there one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheelluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
16
16
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here for three nights on business in early April 2012. Made reservations through Choiceprivileges and had no problems at check in (aside from waiting for 15 minutes--why does it always take so long?). The hotel looks like a castle from the outside and it has a large interior courtyard.

My room was on the second floor near the end of a hall. The room was a bit dated and dingy, but not dirty or nasty. Fridge worked fine. Did not try the coffee maker or other amenities. Internet access was fast with no issues. Room was cleaned each day.

Breakfast is average with pastries, fruit, cereal, etc. Entrance to the hotel is a challenge because of a divided highway and the drive is hard to see because the sign is small. It is not possible to make a left turn out of the parking lot without driving on a strange access road toward a gas station, then catching a light. Otherwise, you need to take a right and then make a U-turn (not always easy).

On the plus side, we finished our project and checked out one day early (room was not prepaid) and saved a little money. Hotel is only a few miles from Mt. Vernon.

I would stay here again and recommend this hotel for travelers who need modest accommodations at a relatively reasonable price (given the area).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I will probably never go back but it was a decent hotel for a quick stopover while travelling south. It looks like a prison from outside but once inside it is fairly nice with a nice courtyard in the middle.

The breakfast was good with lots of hot food.

With so many nice hotels nearby (on the way back we stayed at: BW Old Colony Inn, Alexandria), might as well travel the extra 5 minutes to go there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xnient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this location for one night on December 22, 2011. We had arranged our travel through Expedia and paid for all costs upfront. The stay was uneventful and fortunately, given the very base condition of the room and property, we were committed for only a single night. Upon return from our trip to Washington, we discovered that the hotel had added another charge of $88.24 to our Visa card. We called the hotel and we were advised that the charge had been added as two blankets were "missing" from the room. At the time we tried to talk to a manager but were advised that the manager was not in. After calling back three times at different hours and on different days, it seemed that the manager was never available and messages were left unanswered. Frustrated, we contacted Visa and were told that the charges would be refunded if I personally wrote a letter describing the situation. I can only say that my wife and I are deeply insulted and offended by the hotel's absurd charge that we "stole" two of their ratty, old blankets. Just a word of warning to those wishing to stay at this hotel. The manager, "Nikki", seems to have few scruples regarding charging guests in order to make up for a shortfall in linen inventory. We would never again stay in a Quality Inn property given the treatment that we received.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtOnCentreAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The bath tub drained slowly in our room, since my husband and I only stayed in this hotel one evening, so we didn't bother to complain. If you'd like your room very dark while sleeping, it's probably not very good idea to choose this one; because curtains won't be able to block lights from aisle. Employees were helpful, we liked Bill there at the front desk. All in all, I would say it's worth of money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuaiZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Was a very nice clean,friendly hotel. The front desk was very helpfull and did all they could to take care of your needs. Really enjoyed my stay here and will stay here again.

Room Tip: A rather inexpensive hotel that is clean, in a good location amd great help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have stayed here quite a few times and had very good experience each time! The rooms are very clean and well equipped with ample soft towels, hair dryer and toiletries. There are 2 types of rooms - 1 King bed with a couch and 2 rooms with 2 queen size beds. All rooms have seemingly brand new microwave and refrigerators, desk and chair and various arrangements of furniture depending on style. All rooms have a decent color TV and clock/alarm/radio. Some have large flat screens TVs! Carpet is very clean and beds pretty good. I personally think the queen beds are better than the kings. A hot self serve breakfast is available each day with juice, coffee, cereal, sausage, eggs, bread, English muffins, bagels, apples, bananas, and yogurt. I have stayed here for many weekly stays for 6 months now, and have found the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Over the past 2 months, the hotel has been completely painted. I've had very good experiences staying here and would highly recommend this hotel for people seeking a good, clean, modest level hotel at great prices!

Room Tip: Ask for best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureAlchemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#27 of 53 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 8849 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309-1508
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Alexandria
Quality Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing