We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Alexandria South
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

It's far from a luxury hotel. My family and I were looking for a place to sleep while we spent time touring Washington DC, nothing fancy. We spent three nights and it was a good place for the price. We would stay there again if given the opportunity. It's perfect place to stay without having to stay in the heart of DC. Close to the Metro to get around if you don't want to drive.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to send us feedback. Your feedback is very important to us and best tools in our daily operation. If future reservation is required please give us a call and we will do our best to meet or exceed your expectation.
Thank you for staying with us.
Giri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    212
    226
    92
    63
See reviews for
278
150
68
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paw Paw, Wv
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The quality of Days Inn Motels has steadily been in a decline. We booked a non-smoking room. Our first evening in the room, the strong odor of cigarette smoke filled our room. I looked out the window and spotted a man smoking beside our air conditioning unit. I called the front desk and the clerk stated, "Sir, he has a right to smoke as long as it is not in the room." I responded by stating we had a right to sleep in a smoke-free room and we would not be paying a cleaning fee because the smell was throughout the room.
Days Inns used to be a quality, budget-friendly place to stay. Not any more,
In addition, the placement of 40-watt single bulbs in the three-way lamps made the room dark, even with all the lights on.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Appreciate your concern and apologize for the inconvenience caused by another guest who smoked near or around to your conditioning unit.
Giri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The place was easy to find right along a major highway. The outside is definitely in need of some updating as are the rooms but they were clean. Victor at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. We had a room on the second floor in the front of the hotel. We didn't hear too much noise from the street and didn't have trouble sleeping. We were right next to the elevator and could hear that going up and down every time so if you're a light sleeper, stay away from the road and the elevator.

The room did have a fridge/microwave. Tried the wifi and was getting redirected to some strange sites on my iPad so I refrained from using it the rest of our trip.

The breakfast was your standard continental breakfast with cereal, waffles, muffins, etc. The room was a decent size and had a good amount of seating. We didn't use the pool but the pool and it's surroundings were very nice.

We stayed here due to the good price and the distance to the Metro station. It's less than five minutes away and very easy to get to. The hotel also has a Target and Wal-mart down the street and a multitude of restaurants.

Room Tip: Get room away from street and elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loktar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you so much for taking your good valuable time to send us feedback. I also appreciate letting us know about the exterior building.We are working with the contractor to uplift our exterior look , hopefully your next visit will be very pleasant with us.
Thank you so much.
Giri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#28 of 54 in Alexandria
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#16 of 54 in Alexandria
449 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alexandria South

Property: Days Inn Alexandria South
Address: 6100 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Alexandria South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off the Richmond Highway, this simple 3-story roadside hotel is 12 miles from National mall, 7 miles from the Pentagon, 10 miles from Arlington National Cemetery and 2.8 miles from the King Street Metro station and the Alexandria Amtrak station. All rooms have free Wi-Fi, TVs, microwaves, mini-fridges and coffeemakers. Kids 17 and under stay free with a paying adult. Amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast buffet. There's an outdoor pool, a business center and meeting rooms, as well as free large-vehicle parking. Free Wi-Fi Free breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alexandria-South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing