We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap place but loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Alexandria South
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Let me start with the bad and get it out of the way...the rooms are not very well insulated so you here all the traffic going by. We stayed here 3 nights and all 3 nights firetrucks went by in the middle of the night with their sirens on (not the hotels fault) and it sounded like they were right under our room. We had booked a room with 2 queen beds (we had to rent a smoking room because when we made our reservations thats all they had-again not their fault we just left the door open for awhile when we got there to air it out) but when we got there we had to stay in a room with 2 FULL sized beds because the room we had booked had to be taken off market (we understand that happens as my husband and I both work at a resort) however, they did not offer any kind of compensation and there were still no non smoking rooms available. The first night we got there someone had smoked in the elevator, we could smell pot everywhere we went and people were hooting and hollering at 1am! We did not call down to the office as it only lasted long enough to wake my entire family up.

The good...the staff was very nice! The breakfast was simple stuff but it was good. They have a waffle maker and the waffles are really good. While we were there they had lots of groups but seemed to handle them very well. The gentleman that stocks the breakfast bar was on top of it very well. It is within walking distance to the metro to take to downtown DC so you don't have to pay to park. The motel itself offers free parking/wifi and even has a computer in the lobby for guests to use. The water pressure in the shower was AMAZING! (I know that's not important to some people but when you have thick hair like I do it's very important) The motel was clean and the rooms were a decent size and clean.

If you choose to stay here and are sensitive to noise you may want to request a room in the back away from the road.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
I do appreciate taking to share your experience during your stay with us. Your experience will be shared with our staffs to provide the best service for the guest. I also like to thank you for understanding the situation. Signs are posted for "no smoking" but they do seem to care less.
Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 697 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Leonard V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ronaldo G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinn6852, Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

With expectations that this is a budget oriented motel-style hotel, our overall experience was very good. Hotel was clean and had ample & well-lit parking. Breakfast was better than expected and everyone was friendly and helpful. Hotel was in the process of changing room carpets through our 8 night stay.

Room Tip: a little over a mile or about a 20 minute walk to the Huntington Metro Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Yes, It is our regular practice to up grade rooms including carpet. Thank you so much.
Giri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The room was clean, and the temperature was easy to control. I got an excellent deal on the room. My only suggestion would be to update the microwave.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you suggestion for upgrading microwave and happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you in the future.
Giri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Surelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#30 of 54 in Alexandria
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
5.5 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#17 of 54 in Alexandria
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alexandria South

Address: 6100 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $71 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Alexandria South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off the Richmond Highway, this simple 3-story roadside hotel is 12 miles from National mall, 7 miles from the Pentagon, 10 miles from Arlington National Cemetery and 2.8 miles from the King Street Metro station and the Alexandria Amtrak station. All rooms have free Wi-Fi, TVs, microwaves, mini-fridges and coffeemakers. Kids 17 and under stay free with a paying adult. Amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast buffet. There's an outdoor pool, a business center and meeting rooms, as well as free large-vehicle parking. Free Wi-Fi Free breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alexandria-South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing