We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value hotel... Dave is a great manager” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Alexandria South
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Good value hotel... Dave is a great manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I see a fair amount of negative reviews, but I think the days inn is a solid place to stay for business or solo. Rooms are clean and very spacious (tv, fridge, microwave), easy access to public transportation (or if you have a car, free parking and easy access to 395/495). It's no Ritz hotel but at the price point it is a great value.

have to also give a shout out to the manager, dave.. very on top of things, helped me settle a small billing discrepancy. Very courteous and professional. I am staying at the days inn long term (30+ days), and service like his is a large part of the reason.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    180
    180
    76
    47
See reviews for
223
123
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I don't know how this hotel gets any positive reviews. The whole building looks like crap. We booked the hotel online based on the positive reviews. When we just arrives I was like "what is going on", the building looks different in person. It looks like very old and outdated building somewhere I'd imagine in the creepy area of the Middle East or something like that. When you walk in it looks even more as Middle East (I mean front desk). But this is not the issue. I decided not to judge based on the look of the building and the location (next to very busy road).
The main thing is the room! This is was the biggest frustration. I just opened the door and the smell was horrible. I mean it smells like someone has a box of nasty dirty socks in the room. It smelled very bad! I turned AC on and it smelled even worse. You know the smell of like mold or dust or both together. And this conditioner works so loud, I mean just believe me, we could not wait to get out that place. Rooms are outdated too by the way. Bathroom looks scary. And no, we didn't take a risk to have breakfast there.
Never again! I'm sure you can find a better place for this price...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaTenn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Bow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Good stay
Would like to stay in affiliate locations but need better pricing to afford it I stay about 200 nights a year in hotels

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Cletes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have just stayed here for 9 days and so I thought that I should write a review as I relied on reviews choosing this hotel. Let me firstly say that I experienced nothing but kindness, courtesy, helpfulness and goodwill from ALL of the staff working here. My room was spacious, clean, contained a TV, fridge, microwave and large bathroom. The room was cleaned every day. There is a shuttle service to the metro every morning (even if it is just you as it was for me on many occasions). To get back you can take a cab ($7), bus or walk. There is also free computer use in the lobby. The metro is fast into DC, taking only 15 mins (buy a "smartrip" card). I am British and very happy that I stayed here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The overall appearance of the hotel was great! Very good location. Easy to get in and out. Friendly staff, and quick to solve issues. The internet connection was the only thing that kept me from giving the hotel a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank rt4mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#32 of 52 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alexandria South

Property: Days Inn Alexandria South
Address: 6100 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Alexandria South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Days Inn Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alexandria-South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing