We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good location for Metro access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Alexandria South
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value and good location for Metro access”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights for the second Obama inauguration. Because of the high demand for hotel rooms in the DC area this was the only place I could find for under $100/night that had a reasonably convenient location.

The place is dingy on the outside and its concrete block construction reminds me of a dorm. The corridors are outside and they were in the process of resurfacing them when I was there. I had a 2-queen room and the room itself was perfectly fine. It had a fridge and microwave, a flat screen TV (though with only SD channels so they didn't look very good), comfy beds, and lots of pillows. Even though it was in the 30's overnight the room was well insulated so I didn't need to constantly run the heater.

The hotel was completely booked because of the inauguration so the hot water quickly ran out in the morning and the housekeeping staff was there all day trying to keep up. The breakfast was adequate with waffles, english muffins, bread, and cereal. But there was no fresh fruit of any kind. They should really add at least bananas and oranges.

The location was great for access to the Metro. There's a shortcut you can take through the neighboring apartment building's parking lot making it about a 15-minute walk. If you have a car you can also drive there in a few minutes. Going south on US 1 there are plenty of restaurants and a Target in case you need to pick anything up.

For the price, I think this was a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool area will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runchadrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    201
    214
    87
    60
See reviews for
256
142
64
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHURCHTON
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Upon arrival the desk clerk was clueless as to using the Wyndham rewards card I planned to use toward the cost of the room. The toilet ran all night and was unusable. Not able to get it fixed. Unhappy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank ROXANNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I thank you for your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Your concerns were shared with housekeeping and maintenance staffs. Once again thank you for staying with us.
Giri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINSTON SALEM
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The front desk staff, including management, was not accommodating because my reservation was through a 3rd party website such as Expedia, or Priceline. I requested to extend my 2-night stay (willing to give them more business) by 1 night and was told I had to pay a room rate of $15 more for my for the extra night since it was a saturday and I booked through a 3rd party. The Days Inn was more interested in being greedy and getting more money for their low-budget, dilapidated room than they were in developing repeat-customer relationships. The free breakfast was void of any fresh fruit or whole grains. The television picture quality was poor and fuzzy (certainly no HD). The room had a slight odor, stains on the bedspread, and the lighting was dim and poor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria South, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I thank you for your response. Your suggestions and comments were shared among staffs to exceed the guests experience. Once again, Thank you so much for staying with us.
Giri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#29 of 54 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#18 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alexandria South

Property: Days Inn Alexandria South
Address: 6100 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Alexandria South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alexandria-South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing