We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smelled bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Alexandria South
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Room smelled bad.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

First thing when you walked in, you notice a musty, old cigarette smell even though it was a non-smoking room. The room was clean, but the bathroom could use a better cleaning. The grout lines in the shower were green, they should have been white. Also, there was mildew on the ceiling. The water pressure in the shower was very low. It barely washed the soap off of you, much less the shampoo from your hair. There were only 3 towels in the room for a reservation of 4 people. The staff was very friendly and gladly gave me an extra towel. The a/c was on when we arrived, so no waiting on the room to cool. (Not sure if that was intentional) The continental breakfast consisted of bread, english muffins, a prefab egg, american cheese slices, a few cereals, regular size muffins cut into thirds, oj, apple juice and coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justaflagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    207
    220
    89
    62
See reviews for
266
146
65
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights, sight seeing the Wash DC area. The Metro is close by (15-20 minute walk) so you can get into DC without the expense of a rental car. This hotel has seen better days, is old and shows it. Our room was clean, fresh towels and linens daily. The bed spread had cigarette burns in it, the air conditioner ( a must at night during the summer) worked well. The room had a TV, microwave and fridge. We used the room for sleep only at night and morning shower, leaving during the day. Keep your expectations very low and you may not be disappointed. For the budget minded, this is a good choice to avoid the high costs of lodging in the DC area. If you need something more modern and can afford extra bucks for your room, look for something else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve, Denmark
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Standard interior and breakfast, but OK. Helpful staff; we were given the opportunity to check in a few hours earlier; that was very convenient.

The backside, though, is that this is one of the motels we've stayed in with the highest overall level of noise. Both from the outside, from the hallway, from running water in rooms nearby and – far and above everything else – from the A/C, which is an older model sounding like it's almost, but not quite, on the verge of giving up. So find another spot to stay if it's really hot outside at night.

Also, the pool-hours was somewhat restricted; on weekdays you couldn't go swimming before 4PM. Somewhat strange priority, especially in burning hot July, when we visited. This did not go down very well with the kids after hours in the car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Couple of things, computers messed up when we checked in, so no paperwork for stay. When we returned to our room the second day, the cardkey did not work on the door. Nothing big, just little things.
Also the breakfast was average, however, there was no fruit canned or fresh. And no yogurt, just things you would usually find on a breakfast bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The staff was very friendly overall, and the staff at the front desk was helpful in getting us around.
The room had a fridge/freezer, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer. I used one of the 2 computers available in the lobby (I don't have a laptop.) The pool looked clean and inviting.
The hotel offered a free ride to the MetroRail. (The return trip was $5.00 per room.) My neighbor and I walked it -- it took us 30 minutes, and there were places with no sidewalks along busy roads.
It was not new, but it was clean. In our room the fan in the bathroom did not work.
We would stay there again. Old Alexandria is close -- and a fun place to visit.

Room Tip: We had a room toward the back -- probably a good idea because of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeholiday50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel has all the amenities to make for a comfortable stay. It won't win any awards for "curb-appeal," but the room was clean and comfortable. The pool has a life guard and the free breakfast includes fresh waffles which was a little above what I expect from hotels in this price range. Convenient to the Metro Station and plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel was a pretty good hotel, especially considering the price. It provided us a good place to rest during a trip to Washington, DC. It was a short drive to the metro station and many restaurants nearby. The pool was good size and clean; also had a lifeguard. Rooms are small, but adequate since we really just needed a place to sleep during our trip. The only thing really lacking was breakfast, but we were able to eat for free. Also, when we needed extra towels, I called the front desk expecting them to bring them to me, but I had to go to the front desk and pick them up. One other plus, parking is free at the hotel. In searching hotels in the area, many charged to park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank 304stephc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#28 of 54 in Alexandria
208 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#17 of 54 in Alexandria
443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alexandria South

Property: Days Inn Alexandria South
Address: 6100 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Alexandria South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off the Richmond Highway, this simple 3-story roadside hotel is 12 miles from National mall, 7 miles from the Pentagon, 10 miles from Arlington National Cemetery and 2.8 miles from the King Street Metro station and the Alexandria Amtrak station. All rooms have free Wi-Fi, TVs, microwaves, mini-fridges and coffeemakers. Kids 17 and under stay free with a paying adult. Amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast buffet. There's an outdoor pool, a business center and meeting rooms, as well as free large-vehicle parking. Free Wi-Fi Free breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alexandria-South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing