We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great DC Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great DC Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I'm in DC for business. It's JUST a bit further out of the city than the rest of the Choice branded hotels and substantially cheaper. For that reason, plan at least an extra half hour for traffic if you're going into the city in the morning. The two or three miles may not seem like much on Google Maps, but 395 is a parking lot during the morning commute.

The hotel itself is nice and clean and well-kept. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff is always great. Just up the street is a well populated shopping area with plenty of restaurants. Always a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoidberg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    155
    71
    17
    37
See reviews for
182
87
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just returned from spending 2 nights here. First of all, let me say that the location is wonderful! It's a great place to base yourself to visit DC area attractions. We had a car so I can't speak about the shuttle service to/from Metro. Parking is free & we paid 10.00 extra (89/nt) to get a newly renovated room which was pretty small but functional. It had a refrigerator & microwave. The A/C unit was quite loud in the room but it helped to drown out the highway noise & the hum of it actually put us right to sleep. Breakfast was a wide variety of items from danish, toast, English muffins, bagels, bacon, eggs, gravy, biscuits, yogurt, cereal. The breakfast room was quite large which was good for a crowded weekend stay but the patio just off this room had more seating overlooking the small outdoor pool. Please be aware there are a few steps down to the breakfast area so if someone is in a wheelchair, the staff can utilize a small lift beside the steps. Housekeeping even left a bag of extra towels on our door when we left the do not disturb sign up while we were in the city. The hotel charges 1.50 fee for the safe in your room, whether you use it or not, fyi.

The only problem we encountered was police & crime scene tape blocking the lobby/front entrance. This freaked us out but after calling the front desk, we were advised to go to the side door where a hotel rep would be waiting. The front desk had been robbed by a man on foot! While we were a little on edge that evening, the rest of the stay was fine.

I will return to this hotel next time I am in the DC area.

Room Tip: Pay extra & get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We made a very short notice driving trip to DC. We didn't have a place to stay until we were on our way. We managed to make reservations thru the Comfort Inn 800#. When we got there, the staff was great. They helped us get settled, and they gave us great rooms, since we had to use two rooms. The folks driving the van to the Metro were very nice & helpful.

The only complaint was that when we called ahead & asked for directions on the way there, the guy answering the phone was nice, but completely clueless on how to give directions. We eventually got good directions when we called back later.

Room Tip: Very nice King suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The rooms are a little smaller than usual. The room was very claen and neat. We enjoyed the outdooor pool. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. We were also very happy with the hotel van service that took you to the train and picked you up when you returned. This was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Before even leaving for vacation, Atiff the manager called to upgrade my two double rooms to king suites for the week and upon arriving at the hotel I was very happy. It did take a little while to check in but that's because we had 3 rooms reserved. The rooms are very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The free hot breakfast was a nice touch but the only downside of this was we happened to be staying when a few bus loads of people so breakfast was busy and the people were rude and wouldn't move out of our way for nothing when we were trying to get to the outside patio but that is not the hotel's fault. Pool was nice and free shuttle service to the metro station was a plus. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I recently had to stay at this location for a business meeting. I was extremely tired, and the staff was very helpful & kind. The rooms were clean, and the bed was comfy. I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Overall, the hotel was great! Friendly staff, exceptionally clean and updated rooms. The pool was small but also was clean and served its purpose. I was also happy to see a lifeguard on duty when the pool was open. HOWEVER, my husband and I believe that we would have had a better night sleep if we slept on the floor. The mattresses were hard as plywood. This would prevent us from staying here again, which is too bad because everything else was great.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bswilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Address: 5716 S van Dorn St, Alexandria, VA 22310-1023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing