We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Staff was friendly, however, still fighting overcharge on credit card” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Staff was friendly, however, still fighting overcharge on credit card”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Stayed March 10 and 11, 2010. Hotel was fine nothing fancy but adaquate. Staff was friendly, until I received my credit card. Charged me for an extra night. I have called the hotel at least four times, still not corrected. My credit card company has not yet cleared up. I am really fed up.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAT109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
We greatly appreciate the time you took to write a review on Trip Advisor! I would like to apologize regarding your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Landmark in Alexandria, VA. We have reviewed our procedures and made appropriate changes to prevent this from occurring in the future. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can assist you with. Again, I am sorry for the inconvenience we may have caused you. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    65
    50
    28
    39
See reviews for
76
40
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

I stayed at the comfort inn landmark on a sunday night.. the front desk was very friendly when we checked in, but was not when we left. We were given room 615. When we 1st walked in, me being a hotel employee.. I knew to check certain things... As I started to inspect the room, I first started with the windows where the a/c unit was.. There was long black hairs everywhere, the a/c unit was covered it dust along with the desk in the room.. Decided just to dust it off myself and go about my business. Walked into the bathroom and the 1st thing in there that i noticed, was there was mold and mildew all along the batroom walls.. very very gross. We decided just to clean that up too so we wouldnt have to move to another room. Decided to take a shower and go out and venture the wonderful historical downtown alexandria, got in the shower and there was no water pressure at all... couldnt even rinse the soap all the way out of my hair. Took me an hour and a half just to get fully cleaned and the soap rinsed off.. Stepped out of the shower and looked at the bathroom door and noticed brown sticky dirty spots all over the bathroom door... Sounds to me like the housekeepers dont know how to clean a room properly. We went downtown for dinner and had a blast.. Came back to the room to go sleep and couldnt adjust the setting on the a/c uni. it was so hot all night that we couldnt even sleep. Went downstairs for breakfast in the morning at the IHOP, which was located inside the hotel.... With our breakfast coupons we had to get in the morning cause the wouldnt give them too use when we checked in we sat down at a table and ate a breakfast that was served to us in closed containers like we were at elementry school eating breakfast.. NEVER AGAIN WILL I STAY HERE!! out of all the choice hotels we stay at. this was by far one of the worst.. Worst thing of all there was, when i checked out, i handed the front desk my comment card which had a few nice things in there, she didnt even bother to read it, she threw it away in the trash can right in front of me.. HOW RUDE and UNPROFESSIONAL!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahotelemployee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
I want to thank you personally for taking the time to review our property on the tripadvisor.com web site. I want to extend my sincere apology for the substandard condition of your room and for the lack of concern from our staff.

Our consistent goals of cleanliness and friendly service require diligent attention and feedback from our guests. I assure you we have taken measures to prevent these incidents from happening in the future.

Although your experience with us has not been favorable, we hope you give us another chance to show you our high standards of cleanliness and friendly service.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your situation, again I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We checked into this hotel on 9/28 on our way to SC. The front desk clerk was friendly and gave us room 407. I opened the door and saw cockroaches scurrying all over the floor just inside the door!! We went downstairs to the front desk and was given a new room on the third floor. In that room, the toilet was broken - my husband fixed it himself. I did see a bug by the ice machine, which didn't work. We had breakfast in the IHOP downstairs the next morning and used the $4 coupons toward a full breakfast, which was ok. Once we were out of the hotel, I was told that what I hadn't seen were roaches in the bathtub and on the bathroom wall. This hotel is definately one to avoid!!

Once we arrived in SC we stayed for the week at a Wingate by Wyndham in Lexington. It was wonderful ... can't say enough good things about it ... highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaTanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbishop, Manager at Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Alexandria Comfort Inn Landmark. I would like to offer our sincerest apologies for causing you any distress in reference to the issues you encountered during your stay. It is our goal to provide a clean, comfortable room for all of our guests and we are greatly disappointed that your stay was not the best. We hope you will give us another try if your travels ever bring you to the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

I could not sleep through the night in this hotel. The bed bugs were biting me all night. I awoke in the middle of the night put my clothes back on and laid on top of the covers. The hotel was older, the service was okay, the rooms were unsanitary and cigarette smoke residue permeated the hallways and the rooms. I took pictures of the unsanitary bed linens and the bed bugs found on the pillows to the front desk the next morning. They of course refunded my room charge.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhowardx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbishop, Manager at Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
I want to you thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at our Alexandria Comfort Inn. We apologize for any inconvenience we caused. Occasionally these issues arise in many hotels and we take every precaution to rectify it. Providing you with a clean and comfortable room is our number 1 priority. Anything less than that is unacceptable in our eyes. We hope that when you’re in the Alexandria area you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

The reviews were poor but we were pleasantly surprised when we stayed there for a week. Rene helped us out at the front desk and was extremely nice and helpful. He even upgraded us to a room with a refrigerator and microwave without us asking. The beds are nice and the rooms were clean enough. Best part is getting a 4 dollar coupon each morning to the IHOP in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btpman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Location is very good with transportation provide to METRO and Airport. Great for sightseeing and business. Breakfast is provided and the staff is very resposive and eager to assist you. We have been using this location for over 11 years and are highly impressed with service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ablilley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

We chose this location so that we would be close to the National Cemetery, as my father was being intermed there. The front desk staff was not cheerful and they acted as though they did'nt enjoy their job. I had to probe them for ammentities, as they werent forthcomeing at all. No one there went out of their way to make you feel welcomed. After checking in I had to call the frnt desk and request the roll away bed that they were so insistant upon chargeing me for; they wont allow 3 in a queen bed, though my youngest always sleeps with Mom and Dad when we are in a strange environment; leaving my older two to share the second queen bed in the room. The iron was missing so I called the front desk and they never sent one up. After several hours I went and found the maids in their basement gathering room. They spoke no English, I'm multi lingual but they didnt understand any of the languages I spoke. I used my hands for the ironing motion until they figured out what I needed; they were the most empathetic. Our room was non smokeing but the hall was filled with the smoke from surrounding rooms, putting my children asmtha on alert. Bathroom was old. The bedding was old and worn out. One bed sheet had holes while one bed spread had a cigerrete burn. Multiple story hotel with long interior corridors lacking airconditioning or ventalation. Scheduled to spend three nights, we vacated after two and beleive it or not, found the motel 6 in downtown DC to be cleaner and more suitable for our families stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelintexans5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbishop, Manager at Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
I deeply regret your dissatisfaction with your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to provide award winning service and it is apparent that we did not provide that to you. The feedback that you provided is appreciated because we know it will only make us better. I do apologize that you were inconvenienced by the behavior of our front desk agents and that you were not supplied with the adequate items in your room. I have had a retraining with all members of the staff to ensure that our guests never feel again that we did not provide them with the high standards of service that our guests and our company strive to live up to. Again we apologize that we could not live up to the standards of clean and friendly and hope that you will give us an opportunity to impress you in the future. Please call me if and when your travels bring you back to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark
4.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#28 of 54 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#9 of 15 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark

Property: Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
Address: 6254 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22312-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Landmark near Old Town AlexandriaThe smoke-free Comfort Inn® Landmark hotel in Alexandria, Virginia is off Interstate 395 and one mile from the Landmark Mall.We are close to popular attractions, like: •George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate & Gardens •John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts •Fort Belvoir Army base •National Gallery of Art •Washington National CathedralThe Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and the Washington Dulles International Airport are a short drive away.Additional points of interest nearby include: •National Zoo •Smithsonian Institution •Library of CongressVisitors will enjoy outdoor recreational activities like golfing, jogging, boating, fishing and horseback riding, all minutes away.Be sure to visit the 24-hour IHOP Restaurant located on the premises.Our amenities include: •Free coffee •Free local calls •Free shuttle service to the Van Dorn Metro stations •Free parking •Seasonal outdoor poolYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Landmark the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, safes, cable televisions, irons and ironing boards. For guest convenience, valet cleaning services are offered. The Comfort Inn Landmark hotel is your destination for hospitality and value when visiting the Alexandria, Virginia area. We look forward to serving you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Landmark Hotel Alexandria
Landmark Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Landmark Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing