We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rat Pack”
Review of Carlyle Club

Carlyle Club
Ranked #2 of 11 Nightlife in Alexandria
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Rat Pack”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Night Club with atmosphere, friendliness and great music.
My husband and I have been several times, the "Shows" and bands are varied enough to please any age group the food is good, as well as the service.
A great place to celebrate a Night on the Town!
Nice evening for us as well as our daughter and her husband.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta USA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best wedding reception ever!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had our daughter's wedding reception at the Carlyle Club, which I realize is a lot different from just having dinner. We worked with them for more than a year, and they were fantastic. It's a gorgeous art deco space with a stage and dance floor. We had an open bar and sit-down multi-course dinner for 105 people with choice of four entrees. The food was excellent, the service outstanding and our guests raved about the location. We felt like we went first class, and are grateful to the Brennans for this memorable evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Great Night Out”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Recently attended Latin Night there and had a fantastic time. The Club was generally easy to find. There's street parking or severely reduced parking under the restaurant. The entrance has a night club/speakeasy feel when you enter. The greeter was prompt as was the seater. I bought tickets online and was able to select seating, which was quite convenient.

The band was outstanding! Since I'd never been there before, I didn't know what to expect. On this night, the patrons skewed towards the 40 and over crowd, but they were fun, playful, and participatory. There were couples and groups of all persuasions. The atmosphere was intimate and enjoyable.

On the downside, the food was a bit less than average. Our party had salmon and steak with general vegetables and rice or potatoes. Neither the steak nor the salmon was cooked as requested. Plus the food was not hot. We looked for our server to request changes, but he was like a ghost. He hardly ever showed up to attend to our table, however, he was quick to take our cash for the check and we had to ask for change! Regardless, I would go back there again for music and dancing, but perhaps just order appetizers and drinks. The music prices are more than reasonable and (based on their calendar of events) they attract great musicians.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleBitBritish
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good choice for New Years Eve”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Enjoyed the food, decor and service. We sat upstairs and the atmosphere was pleasant and waiting staff attentive. The food was well presented and tasted delicious.

I would recommend this restaurant and especially the crab appetizer and the white chocolate bread pudding for desert.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank LittleBitBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a wedding reception!”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Had the wedding reception at the Carlyle club. Great atmosphere. Awesome lighting and sound system. Good food and the staff were wonderful. We were very happy. Thank you!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbles1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle Club also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing