We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Baked Goodies”
Review of Firehook Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Firehook Bakery
Ranked #19 of 27 Bakeries in Alexandria
Neighborhood: Old Town
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Old Town
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Baked Goodies”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Firehook is the old Schumann's Bakery of Alexandria . . . a landmark. Firehook tries to provide a good selection of baked goods (breads, cakes, pies, etc.). While the selection is never extensive, it is of excellent quality.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Goosenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Extremely Tasty”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We dropped in for dessert after dinner at an adjacent restaurant. The offerings were very tasty and the chocolate covered macaroons are not to be missed. Please eat yours in two servings - I did mine all at once and wished I hadn't.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Busy spot in the heart of Old Town. Great cookies!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

There are several Firehooks around the area, but I can only speak for this one. You've gotta try their cookies!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjsalexva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Elizabeth and I lived a...”
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Elizabeth and I lived a couple blocks away when it opened - the first Firehook Bakery. The people behind the counter were so nice that I was afraid the business wouldn't survive. We ate their black olive bread as a meal; their brownies were luscious. Right after they opened, we bought a large fruit tart. They didn't have boxes to send them home yet, so they sent us home with the baking pan, trusting that we'd return it! And we did ...

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Sandwiches and carry out.”
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Sandwiches and carry out.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehook Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Firehook Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing