We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't order take-out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Thai and Sushi

Royal Thai and Sushi
Ranked #263 of 733 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't order take-out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We've eaten in the restaurant and enjoyed the food. Decided to try take-out after they moved. The prices were much higher than listed on their website menu for take out. The food, once at home, was not very good. Can't remember what we ordered.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice setting, did not love the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We decided to try it out based on recommendations from others. While the restaurant itself is attractive, the food is mediocre at best. Meals were not balanced flavor wise. Mind you, one in our bunch had the Pad Thai and said it was one of the best meals ever. I would look elsewhere for Thai. Compared to other Thai restaurants, we found it someone pricey. Nice staff ... we won't be back though. Sorry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoingToTheBeach_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good Thai food in out of the way location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I always have a very good meal here. The food is tasty and fresh. Although the restaurant is small, I have never had to wait for a table. I like the minimal modern design, particularly the hanging lamps! The service is fine -- never had any problems with orders and the place is small enough that you can easily catch a server's attention to get a drink refill, etc.

The portions are generous -- even at lunch I usually cannot finish all my meal and get a takeout box. The dishes are presented attractively, and you can choose the spiciness of your meal.

Be forewarned that this restaurant is not in Old Town per se but is fully accessible if you don't mind walking several blocks or possibly taking a short bus ride. Obviously it is accessible by car (although parking can be a problem at lunchtime).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandrian1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best thai in the area. Nice folks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a little hole in the wall. The restaurant is nothing to speak of. Pretty basic decor nothing special. The Thai food is the best in the area without doubt. Currys especially good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kabulpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good food, OK service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I liked the food, very creative, good presentation and prices. Staff people were not friendly, just efficient.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai and Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Royal Thai and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing