We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worst Westin Ever! & They know it because they sent an email refusing to post my honest review! SEE BELOW!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westin Alexandria
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Worst Westin Ever! & They know it because they sent an email refusing to post my honest review! SEE BELOW!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Your opinion of Starwood Hotels and resorts is very important to us at the Starwood Preferred Guest® program. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on The Westin Alexandria. Unfortunately your review did not meet our guidelines for posting on our site.

We could not post your review because it contained:

A reference to a Starwood-branded hotel.

We encourage you to review our guidelines and resubmit your review on The Westin Alexandria.

This hotel is not up to part with the rest of the Westin Hotels!

I was very disappointed. The room was nice (layout, bed comfort etc.). However, valet was not waiting outside. They were MIA each and EVERY time we arrived. The front desk clerk upon arrival was very professional. Each one after that was like talking to someone without a clue. We called down to see if the restaurant/bar was open for food and drinks and were told yes until midnight. After getting dressed and going downstairs we were told the kitchen was closed and they were serving alcohol only, and that we could order room service. The room service menu was minimal AND most of the items were unavailable. There were nats and fruit flies everywhere in the bathroom. The room was double bedded with ONE bathrobe. It was awful! My friends and I ALWAYS patron at the Westin -Dallas Galleria Westin- Atlanta Buckhead Westin -Atlanta Perimeter etc. This was the worst stay ever and we will NOT under any circumstances be at this Westin again! You're giving Westin a bad name!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyShawna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear KeyShawna,
Thank you for staying with us. I am not sure why your posting was rejected initially as it was not intentional. We are checking into that. I was disappointed to learn of the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay and want to extend my apologies. This is certainly not indicative of the service we typically provide. We value the feedback and will address the areas of opportunity. Thanks again.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    314
    105
    40
    25
See reviews for
155
154
49
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a comfortable stay at this hotel. It was very clean and we got a smart deal online. The city of Alexandria is just charming, and it is a few minutes walk from old Alexandria. I would definitely come back to this hotel as it is a fair deal. Good solid hotel with good price/quality ratio. It only seemed to lack that little extra that makes a good hotel great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 808TaylorS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear TaylorS,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I was glad to know you enjoyed your stay and that you will return again. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's all true, from the spectacular lobby with 50 foot high ceilings, to the lively on site bar and restaurant, 4 fast elevators, comfy Westin beds, thick towels, rainwater showers, HD tv, and generally good service. And just steps away from the courthouse and the patent office.

You might quibble with the tiny 20-foot long swimming pool and the feeble low-flow bathroom sink faucets and the $ 26 daily valet parking fee. But overall, nothing much to complain about.

But -- why is a self styled luxury hotel that touts its luxurious pampering of guests, still insisting in 2013 on charging those guests $ 9.95 for an hour of WiFi, or $ 14.95 for a day of WiFi??

Hello Westin: this isn't the late 1990s. That thing called the Internet is no longer a coveted novelty worthy of a special fee. The budget hotels next to the truck stops alongside Interstate highways all have free WiFi. You can do that too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andsank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear andsank,
Thank you for staying with us. I was glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments concerning the internet cost are appreciated. We do offer complimentary internet in and around the lobby area so as to accomodate a guests need in that regard and are presetnly evaluating pricing options concerning usage in the guest room . Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Back to the Patent Office for interviews and staying at my favorite hotel in Alexandria. Two blocks from the PTO, 1.5 miles from Old Town, great staff, decent bar, and good meeting facilities. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear JimM,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. I was glad to learn that you are enjoying the location convenience as well as our staff and service. We look forward to your future visits and I hope our paths will cross while you are staying with us.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our extended family visited Alexandria for a wedding this past weekend, and 14 of us stayed at the Westin. We chose the hotel because it offered an amazing pay-in-advance weekend rate, and because I had stayed here before on business and really recommended it. Every aspect of our stay was perfect. Hotel staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. The concierge gave us great tips on finding things of interest. Rooms were clean and well-appointed. A minor repair was needed in one room and maintenance was up to fix it within five minutes. The hotel shuttle was conveniently available to take us at no charge to the wedding site (five minutes away, but we were traveling with seniors). The restaurant accommodated our large party for dinner and then again for breakfast the next day, and servers were courteous and did a great job. Food at both meals far exceeded that available at most hotel restaurants I've visited -- it was uniformly fresh and well prepared. We were really sad to leave and would stay here again in a flash.

Room Tip: You probably want to try for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycresident2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear nycresident2010,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to share these comments. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay on so many levels. I hope we will have an opportunity to be of service again in the near future.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our professional organization selected this hotel for a three-day board meeting for about 50 attendees. The location was convenient to transportation in the DC area. Rooms were large and well appointed. Dinning was limited to a bar/grill just off of the lobby. Food was limited but filling. However, the breakfasts and luncheons provided separately to the group were very good.

I highly recommend this property to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fullimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Fullimit,
Thanks for staying with us in conjunction with a recent conference. I was gald to know that you found the location convenient, our rooms comfortable and appreciate the overall recommendation. Given you are not too far away, I hope you might have the ooportunity to visit wiht us again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This luxury hotel is beautiful, well appointed and very clean. From the point of check-in everything was fabulous! Upon arrival we had lunch in the Trademark Restaurant, service and the food were great. You must have the Flock of Grilled Spiced Wings with a side of Tarragon Ranch-what a flavor profile! We were here on a family vacation so we traveled to DC, Maryland, and all over Old Town Virginia, the FREE Shuttle staff were very accommodating and informative. Our executive suite had breathtaking views of the city and was clean with subtle appointments throughout the rooms. Our Room Attendant was very nice, helpful,and respected our privacy when needed. But beyond this the General Manager Richard Casale, and his Director of Operations were first class captains of this outstanding ship! Now we have stayed in hotels all over the world with great service, but I have to acknowledge the front office team was simply amazing, I wish I could remember their names! they were very personable, helpful, funny and true professionals! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will be back! P.S. my 8 year old daughter & I loved the pool! Keep up the great work Rich! L.Davis

Room Tip: Request a room that has views of the city, on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear LanceD,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for your kind comments. I was so glad to learn of your wonderful experiences with our staff and certainly enjoyed running into you while you were here. Continued best and please come visit us again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Property: Westin Alexandria
Address: 400 Courthouse Sq, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing