We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Alexandria
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location, Great facilities”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I spent four nights at the Westin Alexandria while attending a conference in the same facility.

The bed and linens were good, and sleep quality was acceptable. I did not sleep well, but tough to blame the conditions.

Overall the room was pretty good, no complaints.

The gym facilities were pretty good- free weights, a few machines, mats, swiss balls, and several treadmills. The pool and hot tub, although both small, have a comfortable atmosphere.

The conference facilities were better than most hotel conference facilities I've attended (out of the 15-20 hotels). Large room had good lighting and accoustics, with great access from two sides. The small breakout rooms have great natural lighting, nice tables and chairs, and comfortable. The common lounge spaces are just the right size and furniture. Well designed for a small conference.

The service was fine, I did not have any issues nor concerns. I did not eat at any of the on-site facilities.

The location is decent, within walking distance from all the great restaurants and shopping on historic King Street, and about 20 minute walk from the water. It is only 5 minute walk to the metro stop, so you can easily get to and from the airport, as well as anywhere else in the DC area.

Overall Westin Alexandria is a good hotel with great conference facilities. I was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Joshua,
Thanks for staying with us recently. I was glad to know you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts on so many different aspects of our hotel. I hope your travels will bring you our way again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    345
    117
    46
    27
See reviews for
179
174
52
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I took a little trip to Alexandria because it was so close to Washington DC. We had such a great time. The hotel was beautiful and clean. Ron at the front desk help us so much with places to eat and visit. He was such a polite to talk to. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would come back again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamarie7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Lisamarie,
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments, particularly concerning Ron. I am sure he will be very pleased to know that he had such a great impact on your experience. Hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is going to be one of my shortest reviews.

4 out of 5 for me is a place I would stay in every time with no second thought. To get 5 in my book you really have to blow it away and think of everything before I ask.

The location is sort of a quite area after 5pm. There are a few things around but not a ton.

Rooms were just fine and so was the service. I even left something in the room and finally got a a very helpful security guard that sent me my bag. Only thing that made me scratch my head was how the hotel did not contact me to let me know I left a bag. Its a bag not a toothbrush.

Guess I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Ktscott,
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Glad to know all went well and most improtantly that we were able to find and return your bag. Given that you are so well travelled, your postive comments are very much appreicated.

Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We couldn't find a place to stay near the Mall in Washington DC at Easter time that was reasonable, so we opted for nearby Alexandria, VA. for 2 reasons: its near the metro and its a quaint historical city with things to do in the evening.
The Westin Alexandria is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at: safe, super clean, staff helpful and kind, beautiful setting. It has a shuttle that we used to pick us up after dining on King St. in Alexandria for free. Also, when booking i called Westin directly and they worked with me on a reasonable rate that beat the internet rates.
We were able to walk or take the local trolley to nearby shopping and restaurants.
I would recommend it - highly.
One should know there is only valet parking and it costs an additional $25/ night to park a car. The hotel is a gem. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolceniente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear dolceniente,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with all. Noticed you are from Jamestown, NY. I have a cousin that lives up there and have visited a few times. Great place. I hope we will have have an opportunity to be of service again in the near future.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at the Westin Alexandria...staff was terrific...hotel was very clean...location was very convenient to the Metro for trips to DC and the trolley to Old Town Alexandria...

Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Mark k,
Thanks for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your comments. I was delighted to learn of your satisfaction with our staff, service and location. Hope to see you back again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We picked this hotel due to its location. We wanted to be able to walk to the subway and to restaurants. It did not disappoint in these areas. The King St metro is at most a 5 min. easy walk. There are restaurants you can walk to from the hotel or you can catch the free King St trolley at the metro station and access all the restaurants in old town. We felt safe walking around the area even at night with 2 kids. The rooms are nice and were clean and well maintained. They also have a safe and refrigerator that we found very useful! My kids enjoyed the pool - it is not huge, but big enough. Most importantly it was warm! We have been to plenty of hotel pools that are freezing and it ruins the experience. You have to pay to have internet access in your room - seems like this should be included and most hotels do at this point - this is when you feel you are being nickeled and dimed. Internet access is free in the lobby at least. Also we chose the green option - not to have our linens changed. But this means nobody comes to even empty the garbage or refill the coffee. We asked for this to be done on our second day, as we stayed 3 nights. Housekeeping was promptly sent up and took care of it. We usually like to stay at hotels that include breakfast, but sacrificed this for location. There is a Starbucks that has bagels on the same block as the hotel. There is also an Einstein bagel shop a few doors down from the Starbucks, but it was not open on the weekend (Starbucks was). Also like that you can bring your dog to the hotel. We did not bring our pooch this visit but may the next time we come - this would also be a reason to stay here again - and the rate seems reasonable if you have a dog. Alexandria appeared to be very dog friendly - we saw a lot of dogs around! Alexandria even has a cruise where you can bring your dog during the summer and have bikes that have an attachment for dogs. After we checked out we wanted to spend time in old town so we went to the visitor center and you can get a free parking pass for 24 hrs - between this and the free trolley it is very easy to visit Alexandria!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 844 and our view was of the roof - we could see nothing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear nmesq,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our conveninece to Old Town. Looking forward to being of service again.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Westin and were pleasantly surprised by the excellent front desk staff (esp. Vanessa). It was a breeze checking in and we were given a nice room with all the things we needed for our baby.

There was a problem with noise that night, some construction and we heard drills at 9pm, but once we called the desk, it stopped. We also had a problem with the faucet, but that was repaired quickly. The manager took care of this issue very well.

For a family this place is suitable and well-located for the metro to D.C. It is close to the Whole Foods and Starbucks and in a nice part of town- away from "downtown" Alexandria. It's more quiet.

But beware, the halls were noisy with kids running up and down and you can hear conversations. The doors are also ill devised and slam loudly. Too bad more care wasnt taken to correct this annoyance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear smithid,
Thanks for staying with us. I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction witht our service, particularly with the front desk and Vanessa. It appears you did encounter some noise issues which were responded to appropriately and we will continue to look closer at our security staffing during high family occupancy weekends to enable a quieter experience for all. Hope to see you again soon!
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,398 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,250 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Alexandria

Property: The Westin Alexandria
Address: 400 Courthouse Sq, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing