We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A solid 4 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Alexandria
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A solid 4 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This place was great
It was clean, the staff was courtesy, and the king bed was AWESOME

What more can I say other than they have a free shuttle that will take you to Old Towne (it comes like every 15mins)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    316
    105
    40
    25
See reviews for
159
155
49
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Whole World.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I checked in at about 6pm ,so my room was ready. I was upgraded to a nice room over the phone, but when i arrived to the hotel the nice lady who was checking me in was called to the back and was replaced by man.

I had asked the man who checked me in if they had a room on a higher floor,and he stated
that they were full. I think i pissed him of when he asked me where i was coming from and i told him Peru ,and he asked me how i liked it ,so i told him the truth...

So he gave me a room that was facing the big dumpster on the 2nd floor even though it was a clean room and a very clean dumpster. So, I called down and asked to speak to the first lady who was checking me in and she moved me to a room facing the front with a view of the courthouse plaza and higher floor.

The only problem i really had was the cell phone signal does not work well in the hotel.. I asked about that and was told that Verizon was the only company who did not lay lines in the hotel during construction.

Room was great as can be expected at Westin and great Location. I walked from the King Street metro in less than 10 mins even though they do offer shuttle service. So all in all it was a good stay.

Room Tip: If you have Verizon , ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I love Westin. The room was nice and clean with a good view. The beds were heavenly!!!! The shower had dual heads...awesome!!!! I didnt eat at the Jamison because the prices were too expensive. Valet parking is $24. When you want your car....you just call and they will pull it out front for you. However, on Saturday we were able to find free parking on the street. I will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jony5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed on the executive club level. On the negative: The food in the club room did not meet expectations. Breakfast eggs were cold, bagels were not that good either. Coffee not hot.
They don't serve sweets in the evenings, either, which is odd. They should serve cookies in the evenings.
Bar service was slow and the pool hours are limited. (only open in the evenings.)
The room: Bathroom was small and the heating/cooling wasn't as simple as most hotels.
On the positive, I thought the front desk staff was VERY friendly and accommodating (Robin and John). We also received great service from the valet and shuttle service and the staff that worked in the club room. The staff really was great. The lobby was nice. The bar decor was also nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elissa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
141 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Great location within walking distance of Metro. Very nice rooms, beautiful common spaces. Business center extremely expensive. Nice fitness center.

Previously I stayed on the courthouse side of hotel. This time I had a view of the monument and found that I had MUCH better cell reception.

I typically sleep just fine in hotels. However, my room was near the stairwell, and the stairwell door slammed shut every hour on the hour waking me. I would assume it was security patrolling hallways?

I would stay here again

Room Tip: Away from courthouse, away from stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_b_00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

i booked 5 weeks at westin alexandria but after the 1st night, i cancelled the remaining 4 weeks and tried another starwood hotel in the same town. (will write about that later.)

westin alexandria is excellent in most aspects, especially locations (close to subway), except two major shortcomings: 1. their complimentary breakfast is really tiny - a cup of orangze juice, 4 average-sized bagels, a small glass cup of fruit. plus, mostly like, you have to wait for 10 minutes or longer. 2. no microwave. so, it depends on how much you care about breakfast and microwave. everything else the hotel presents made me happy and their receptionists were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at the Westin for two weeks prior to a big move, and we were so so pleased with everything about the hotel. Along with our young son, we were made to feel very welcome every day in all of the facilities--restaurant, lobby, pool, etc. Being an Alexandria local, I liked the hotel's location, as it was a quieter and more business-oriented area rather than the more high-traffic and retail-oriented options on King Street. Whole Foods is an easy walk, as were a ton of decent restaurants and King Street, so the location is no sacrifice. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildigard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Property: Westin Alexandria
Address: 400 Courthouse Sq, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing