We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Alexandria
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was in town for a conference being held at the Westin. It was really convenient to be able to stay right on site. I arrived a day early to do a little sightseeing. The 10-min walk to the Metro station wasn't too bad but the 40-min ride into DC itself would've been a bit much if I'd only been in town as a tourist. The staff were incredibly helpful and very friendly throughout my stay and I thought their reward system for refusing housekeeping was innovative ($5 voucher for their food/drink establishments for every day you don't need housekeeping). The only thing that would've made it that much better would've been free wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvalonMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    305
    105
    40
    25
See reviews for
153
153
49
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I frequently stay at the Westin Alexandra on business travel to the D.C. area, the staff has always been fantastic and rooms always in great shape. Elites will really enjoy their executive lounge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0lf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I was attending a conference at the hotel and my partner was traveling with me as we were going to continue on to DC for a short break. On checking in the front desk repeated my preferences as a Starwood Preferred Guest program. I had asked for a King - he mentioned that I had asked for a King - gave us our keys - got to our room - lo and behold - two double beds. I'm not even talking two queen beds. This was like a 1 1/2 person size bed each. Nothing was romantic get away like separate beds.

On top of that, the view out the window was the third floor roof with two huge air conditioning/venting units just outside of the window.

Now I know lots of folks were coming to the conference - but I had arrived early and was staying an extra day past the end of the conference. Nowhere in this whole hotel was there a room with one king bed? I was told to check the following day - and still nothing. So I complained that if I were going to be there for a week, I'd at least like a better view - even if they couldn't get me a King bed. So I went from the below crappy a/c view to a spot on view of the Washington Masonic Temple. At least I got something.

But then, it's the little things that were weird. The door would only open if the handle were lifted, rather than naturally pushed. There was only one bathrobe in the room, and I had to tip the maid to get a second.

More Westin craziness that I've experienced in other hotels - a mini bar in the room that was empty. And really god forbid if we should ever get a second bottle of body lotion - they were just stingy with their amenities.

We followed this up with a stay in DC at a Kimpton Hotel that was smaller, but right in town, with full amenities for about the same price.

If you're considering staying in Alexandria, the Hilton and the Embassy Suites are much closer to the King Street station and the heart of Alexandria's old town.

I was expecting a "Macy's" experience from Westin and came away feeling more "JC Penny's".

Room Tip: Avoid the fourth floor for fear of getting the hideous view I started with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfimporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed at the Westin Alexandria for a quick visit to Washington D.C. and Alexandria. I was impressed with my room, which was clean and comfortable. I got a good night's sleep and that's important to me as a new traveler. The hotel is centrally located to King Station so we were able to take the subway to D.C. and visit the museums. The next time I visit D.C., I will stay at the Westin Alexandria. It's mostly a business traveler hotel, but it's also good hotel for the regular travel looking for a clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzgirlfromla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed at the Weston as they were the host hotel for a race that I participated in. The hotel is clean and modern. The room was spacious . Even with the event taking place, the staff was attentive.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princessinbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is in a good location from DCA airport. You can get there by the Metro train or taxi. I believe I took the metro and then had the hotel shuttle come get me. The location of is hotel is great for the person that is a business traveler who likes a great hotel and also a good night life on king street in old town. If you are platinum you'll get all the benefits of Internet and breakfast like most other SPG properties. Overall, a great stay if you are willing to pay a small fee to travel to this hotel. Worth it! Bg

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murunner2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good location... The rooms are not overly large, but comfortable, The staff is very helpful and it is accessible to the beltway. It is more for the business traveller than the tourist, but either would find adequate. Starbucks is attached and the bar/restaurant is nice for entertaining. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doubleboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Property: Westin Alexandria
Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing