We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Alexandria
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is in a good location from DCA airport. You can get there by the Metro train or taxi. I believe I took the metro and then had the hotel shuttle come get me. The location of is hotel is great for the person that is a business traveler who likes a great hotel and also a good night life on king street in old town. If you are platinum you'll get all the benefits of Internet and breakfast like most other SPG properties. Overall, a great stay if you are willing to pay a small fee to travel to this hotel. Worth it! Bg

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murunner2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 885 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good location... The rooms are not overly large, but comfortable, The staff is very helpful and it is accessible to the beltway. It is more for the business traveller than the tourist, but either would find adequate. Starbucks is attached and the bar/restaurant is nice for entertaining. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubleboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel is in a great area, close to King Street Metro and walking distance to a Whole Foods and a variety of restaurants. Felt very safe walking at all hours. Inside, the hotel is bland when compared to other Westins I have visited. Bathroom was tiny, no in-room safe, several lamps had no bulb in them. Heavenly bed was very comfortable, but enough with the sales brochures all over the room -- I already have sheets and towels at home, thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freqtrav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at this hotel, and was lucky to book the concierge (club) floor for an affordable rate (government rate). I had invited my sister to join me so that she could be a tourist while I was at a meeting.

It was a truly incredible hotel -- the food and drinks in the lounge were wonderful. Breakfast was lovely, the afternoon snacks and special beverages (teas, juice, coffee, waters) were wonderful. Evening munchies were out of this world. - shrimp one night, asparagus wrapped with ham, cheese, vegetables - great hot snacks also. The room was very nice, the bed was incredible and everyone was so friendly. The view from the club lounge is beautiful and it is very relaxing.

The location is the best part. It is in a quiet neighborhood but a short and safe walk to the King's Street Metro Station. It made getting to the airport and to the Smithsonian super easy and convenient - and cheap.

I did walk down to King Street one evening -- that is a bit of a walk but on a nice day it is worth it to go to the restaurants and shops.

I have stayed there several times and highly recommend the Club Level!

Room Tip: Check the rate for the Club Floor -- it may be worth the price difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzzbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I've stayed at this property before and both times have had good stays. The rooms are clean, well lit and the beds are very comfortable (you can't go wrong with a Westin Heavenly Bed.) There are extra outlets on the nightstand to plug your phone in, which is great. Now, if you could actually get a signal in your room, that would be even better. That is the only real downfall of the property...the cell phone service in the hotel is terrible.

There is a nice lounge/restaurant on the first floor. The bar is a bit small...if there is a big conference in house, there can be limited seating in the bar area. Otherwise, the food is great (love the sliders)! I also ordered room service one night, which was very prompt. Food was the right temperature and the order was accurate.

The meeting space is nice as well. There are quite a few breakout rooms and everything is centrally located to make it easy to run up to your room during breaks if you needed to. Don't bother bringing your cell phone/blackberry to your meeting though...the service in the meeting space is non-existent as well.

And my favorite part..there is a Starbucks in the same building. You just have to walk out the door of the restaurant and it's right next door. I would recommend the hotel to others. It's definitely a pleasant stay and a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlms1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I've stayed in other hotels in Alexandria closer to Old Town, but this was my first time at the Westin. I was there for a conference and was very please with the Westin as a guest and conference goer.

The location of the Westin has great access to transportation options. It is just off the Beltway and is two blocks shy of an entrance to the King Street Metro stop. It is a twenty minute walk to get to the restaurants and shops on King street where there are much better dining options that what is immediately around the hotel. If driving to the Westin I recommend you approach from Ballenger Ave. rather than Jamieson Ave. like the directions suggest. This will have your car facing the right way as you pull into the valet parking area.

The rooms are clean, roomy, and comfortable - pretty much all I could ask for. I did hear some complaints from other guest about a green light from some device high on the wall that blinked all night, fortunately my evil green light was out of sight above my head. If you are particularly sensitive to noise, there are periodic train horns that can be heard, but they weren't an issue for me. The bathrooms are short on counterspace, so if you are sharing a room, be sure to stake out your toothbrush spot early.

I was there for a conference and thought the meeting space was excellent. The rooms weren't too hot or too cold, the acoustics were good, and the lighting was just right. The food that was catered was pretty good in my experience with conference food. The only downside was that the complimentary breath mints were horrible, kind of like chewing on a urinal tablet.

All of the staff that I dealt with at the Westin was friendly. I especially appreciated a maintenance person who helped me, unprompted, when he saw that my room key had stopped working. Sorry I didn't get your name maintenance guy, but thanks.

It is a bit of a walk, but be sure to explore King Street, Old Town, the Torpedo Factory, and the waterfront if you have a free evening while staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicahDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We are Starwood Gold and booked a king room for 2 nights for points and cash, which made this stay affordable! We were upgraded to club level when when we checked in which was wonderful as it included breakfast and internet. The hotel is located in a quiet area, which is good! We took the free shuttle for dinner, but the next day, we discovered we were not that far from King Street and walked the area. The room was roomy, the bed was very comfortable and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. The coffee is killer strong! Snacks in the late afternoon were fancy...bacon wrapped scallops.

I would stay here again.

Beware, though, if you are not club level, everything is extra...and pricey!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiBug5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,542 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Sq, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $123 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing