We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
midwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Beds and rooms clean. Continental breakfast good, but not extraordinary. Good, friendly staff. Military town feeling. Need to drive to metro. Convenient to Mount Vernon. Lots of food choices just north. Solid budget hotel.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank familytraveller609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    82
    44
    18
    21
See reviews for
80
70
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Best Westerns vary in quality and charm. This one is very pleasant. We stayed overnight to visit Mt. Vernon. It is a large hotel with an excellent free breakfast buffet. Clean rooms, and efficient staff. Most of the visitors seemed to be there on business with the nearby army post.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DSMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

I think this was a really great hotel. Some people have a bad impression about it , because it was previously under poor management , by my understanding. However , it has been taken over by new owners in 2007 , and they invested a LOT in renovating it. Once you enter the hotel you can tell. Furniture is new, everything is very clean.The front desk staff and the managers will take every extra step necesary to make you feel good , and they are all very friendly. The rooms are nice ,you can see the furniture is new, the microwave and refrigerator also seemed new. I just loved the bed , big and comfortable, and there were plenty of channels to choose from on tv. Everything was clean. The breakfast offered eggs, sausages , waffles , plus the regular cold meal.
We were given lots of usefull information about the area. I found the attention coming from the staff and managers really nice. That's great customer service!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Check in and check out of the hotel was very easy, and the staff were very pleasant. My room was just a short walk from the lobby, so that was convenient. The room was nicely decorated and clean, and the bed was comfortable. You can tell that this hotel recently underwent renovation, since the hallway doors were older, but the rooms looked really nice and new. Every thing about my room was great. The mini fridge and microwave also looked brand new.
I did have 2 bad experiences at this hotel, the coffee and the breakfast, but after taking the hotel survey, the management contacted me immediately to say "sorry", and that they would do everything they can to improve.
My bad experiences: I got a cup of coffee from the lobby that evening, as I was going to be up late studying. The coffe had a very odd odor, and I could not drink it. I made coffee from the machine in the room, and all was well. The next morning, I got up for the free hot breakfast, and it was not so good. There were many things wrong with the breakfast buffet, and not many choices. They did have a waffle machine, but I did not try that out.
I need to stay here again in 2 weeks, so I will update this review to let everyone know if the management did indeed make the changes that they said they would.
All in all, aside from the breakfast, this hotel was really good, and I'm going back, so that should say something.
Oh, plus the free in-room wi-fi worked really well.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abtisam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

I have travel and been in a lot of hotels but this one was very friendly and hospitable!
Upon checking in Front Desk was Great!. The rooms are clean and fresh smell. Sheets are soft and very clean, pillows love them!!. the lighting was good not strong (green light bulbs).
there breakfeast was great! I built a egg mcmuffin with sausage and egg and did not havae to spend any extra on it ( I ate 3!) orange juice and coffee great! kitchen girls was also great.
I needed directions they help me out on that and made some wonderful suggestions.
overall I highly recommend , its very quiet too!!. And very close to Fort Belvoir!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sooosassy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

The front desk was very mean and we came in with a group of about 60. Right when we came in they threatened to kick us out because "we were too loud" The front desk was rude to us and their was a another group and they had some kids in the lobby making more noise than us and the front desk didn't say anything to them. My room was horrible and they refused to fix it. The toilet didn't flush, the AC made an annoying sound and the TV didn't have buttons and the remote didn't work. We called them several times and they said that they won't fix it because we kept breaking them all. They were nasty and unconsiderate. They also sent a worker to take pictures of us during breakfeast yet we never were asked if it was okay and they refused to give us the pictures and they were so mean. Don't go there if you have any other choice. The streets are better than that place.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vacatuion3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

We arrived at the Best Western Mount Vernon on June 24th for a four night stay. There is no access to the hotel from Southbound Hwy 1 making the hotel difficult to get to. This is a 100% smoke free hotel which is one of the reasons why we booked it, however we had to walk through the haze of smokers loitering around the entrance of the hotel and the dozens of cigarette butts they left behind to get into the hotel, this was every time we went to or from the hotel. Not a good impression!

The hotel does not have a dry sauna in the gym as advertised. There are no laundry facilities at the hotel, the hotel will send your clothes to the cleaners across the street for a fee to the hotel and a per item charge. There is a laundry facility several blocks from the hotel however we did not feel safe doing laundry there.

The keys to our room had to be reset everyday during our stay, we never did find out why but we had to go to the desk everyday when the key would not work in the door. I also asked at the front desk for extra blankets and the staff member just rolled her eyes at me and said “in this heat!” She did not want to hear anything from me as a guest and I was surprised when the blankets did show up. The mattresses are very hard and I have Fibromyalgia and wanted to place the blankets under the sheets for extra padding.

The breakfast is your basic dry cereal, oatmeal, toast, waffles and donuts/muffins. Coffee, apple juice, or what we think was Tang for orange juice. Breakfast is served in the basement of the hotel. There are several fast food restaurants also in the area – McDonalds, Wendy’s, Taco Bell etc.

This hotel does cater to school groups so if you are there when a school group is booked be prepared. Unfortunately during our last night a group arrived and ran the up and down the stairs, halls, elevators, and in the gym, slamming doors from 2:00 in the afternoon until well after 1:00am. When I called the front desk the attitude was that it is a school group and that I should really just be more understanding and let them be. The hotel staff would ask the group to be quite only because it was after midnight.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank watkns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#26 of 52 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
6.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Property: BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Address: 8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing