We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Smell Lobby but Good Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Barnesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smell Lobby but Good Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The lobby and hallway had a bad smell so I examined room first before taking it. The room smelled good, was spacious, the bathroom was large too and had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. Liked having the refrigerator and microwave. The bed was harder than mine at home but slept o.k. Carpet was clean and didn't hear neighbors much. Easy access and lots of parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry about the smell you noticed in the lobby. We later learned it was related to a city issue occuring with a waterline in front of the hotel, and it has been fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    82
    44
    18
    21
See reviews for
80
70
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We just had 2 weeks in the USA, and checked into this Best Western on night 3 and 4 because of the easy distance to Washington DC. We walked in around 8pm. The man at the front desk was sitting in a chair in the back, and stayed seated until he finished what he was doing on his phone, no acknowledgement. Reasonably friendly once he made his way to check us in, but found the check in process generally sloppy. Room was fine, nice size and comfy bed, no issue whatsoever. It was clean. I agree with earlier comment about it being a classic Best Western; could probably do with a bit of an update. Breakfast was not so good, skipped it the second day. Nice shuttle to and from the station, however I think they forgot us on the return so we ended up coming back on the bus after working it out with a nice chap at the station! Staff not too remorseful on our return, blamed traffic and it being generally just one of those things. We were just relieved to be back! Anyway, it was good enough for what we needed, but a few changes could have made it a lot better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I will certainly work with the staff to improve the issues you've described. I hope the next time your in the area you will stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

When looking for a quiet nights sleep on a great mattress in a clean room with clean towels and a warm breakfast as well as free parking at a very reasonable price.......this is the place. There are several excellent eating establishments in the immediate area and once you know your way around you are near olde towne as well as major attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank PEGGY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We spent a night here for our trip from New York to Orlando. We wanted a place close to Washington D.C and were it would be easy to get back on the road the next day. The hotel itself is really nice. It's nothing fancy and rather classical Best Western. The room was big and clean. Beds were good. Free parking.
The service at the desk was really good and the receptionist specifically told us how to get to and from D.C. quick and easy. The hotel has their own shuttle service between the hotel and Huntington Station which is the closest subway station. For us the departure times didn't fit so we took a local bus from the hotel to the station. The trip tour about 15 minutes. Then we took the subway (with a transfer) to DC. That also took about 20-ish minutes, 30 minutes with the transfer. We spent a couple of hours in the city before we took the same route back to the hotel.
We had a really good stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseDahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we hope to see you again in the future
next time you visit our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed one night in July, 2014. Very nice property with great location right on U.S. 1. The property is up to date and clean. Room was spacious and well maintained. Staff was very helpful. A little far from DC proper, but there is a Metro station not far from the hotel. Ft. Belvior is right down the road and Mount Vernon is only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again, next time you visit the DC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The web page said free shuttle to metro. Got to hotel and found out it was only on weekdays. Were given directions to metro but that isn't what we wanted. Everything else about the hotel was above average.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Wilbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I'm sorry you were disappointed in not having weekend shuttle service, since it's free to park on weekends and the station is fairly close we
think guests enjoy the freedom of selecting thier own schedule on weekends rather than the set pick ups we could offer. I do hope you'll consider staying with us again, the next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchester, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great stay overall. The staff is extremely helpful. We used the hotel shuttle that ran back and forth to the Metro station, which is well worth it. We did 2 days of touring the DC area then 1 day at Mount Vernon, which is only a few minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank LaLa0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, we hope to see you again in the future
the next time you visit the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#27 of 52 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
6.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Property: BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Address: 8751 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309-4223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing