We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Moncks Corner, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family when to see the sites in DC. I found this place a inexpensive alternative to staying closer in town. If I had it to do a again I think I would have paid more for stay closer in. If you going to see Mt Vernon specifically then this might be okay. This is several miles to the metro and then it's the end of the line for the metro so you look at a ~25 min ride into DC from there.

They do offer a decent room for a great price. The Hotel itself is clean the staff was friendly enough. While this isn't in the worst area of town, it isn't anywhere great either. I did not feel to exactly comfortable out an about looking for a place to eat. The free breakfast was the usual fare, not great but good enough to get by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    81
    43
    18
    21
See reviews for
79
69
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Best Western - Mount Vernon is one of the best hotels in this area. They provide excellent rooms for a decent price. They are located about 10 minutes away from Fort Belvoir. The hotel clerk I constantly work with (Salmon) is an extremely friendly and professional person to deal with, he provides the customer service I look desire. This hotel is a 5 star military supporter and I recommend every drill to be booked here. For those trying to find a nice clean friendly hotel, look no farther. A++++++ for Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klstylez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, GA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I spent three nights while seeing the sites in and around D.C. and Mount Vernon.
Pros and Cons

Pros:
Friendly, sincere, helpful staff
Average to good free breakfast
Shuttle service when available (see cons as well)
Subway, McDonalds, Papa Johns, convenience store and local restaurants within walking distance
Clean and fairly quiet
Clean remotes are a great touch

Cons:
No taxi service this far out
Shuttle service wasn't available on the weekend because of no driver available
No shuttle service to Mount Vernon even though its a six minute drive
Safe in room should never cost extra - they are for the guest as well as protection of the housekeepers
Needs a new coat of vibrant paint

We stayed in two rooms 135 (two doubles) and 136 (king).
136 had air condition problems, but, when told the staff got right on it and fixed it with hours.

I would recommend an expanded shuttle service that includes pick-up from the Huntington Metro station in the morning as well. Shuttle service to Mount Vernon because of its so very close to the hotel. One more I would look into is an Old Alexandria shuttle. This one could simply be a reservation required or by request only. Maybe even charging a small fee for this particular service. These three amenities I believe would help picking up a few new customers.

Enjoyed our stay! Thanks

Room Tip: Ask about the shuttle and if they have other transportation options for guest. Taxis do not come thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trivial_matter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay.
We will certainly consider your thoughts on expanding shuttle service.
Taxi's do come to the hotel though,our staff would have been delighted to have assisted
in contacting the local cab service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Checked into hotel.
Asked hotel clerk if there was a good place to eat nearby.
I was out of room for LESS THAN TWO HOURS, only to return
to find someone had entered my room and stolen $130.

Nice!

Hotel clerk was no assistance.
Contacted local police and filed a report.

Hotel had monitors and security cameras set up for all over, yet hotel clerk refused to review the security tapes.

Not a good feeling here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Jan,
I'd like to assure you we take customer complaints very seriously at our hotel.
The Front Desk agent on duty did not have access to review the security cameras, however I have, we also interogated the lock to your room for entry. No one entered your room after you checked in except you. This documentation has also been reviewed by the police dept.
We take the safety and security of our guests very seriously. If you are missing money, I'm truely sorry but it was not due to the staff or lack of security in the hotel.
We strive to provide the best in customer service with clean comfortable accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This property isn't the newest one on Richmond Highway, but it is conveniently located to Mt. Vernon, Old Alexandria, and The National Mall via the Metro Yellow Line. We stayed in Room 315 June 2-3, 2013, and were well-satisfied with the room at about $85/night average. The front desk people were helpful and friendly, with suggestions for restaurants and attractions. We don't usually take advantage of the included breakfast since we don't eat with plastic flatware or from styro plates, but the coffee was just fine and the food didn't look any worse than any other hotel of this class. As others have said, the hotel feels like it's in a safe location, though on a busy arterial. A solid three stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This Best Western has clean, well appointed rooms. It was quiet and a full, hot breakfast is provided in its large breakfast area in the basement. Their shuttle service takes you down Richmond Highway to the Metro station, a short drive away. It was easy and convenient. The staff were friendly and helpful. Mount Vernon was less than 10 minutes away. Do not eat at any of the Chinese restaurants nearby. There are some very good restaurants five minutes north on Richmond Highway.

Room Tip: We were in the back of the hotel where the tour buses parked but could not hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#29 of 52 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
6.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Property: BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Address: 8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing