We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice with really good full breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very nice with really good full breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed one night. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms are a little small but really clean and comfortable. The room had a frig. and microwave. The free breakfast buffet was really good with plenty of food. They have security cameras in the parking lot and in the hotel. We felt safe. No problems at all. Free wifi and free parking. Used their computer next to registration desk to print my airline boarding passes. DCA Ronald Regan airport an easy drive 12 miles away (20 minutes) at around 11 am although I was told it would take longer to get there if the flight was earlier in the day. Reasonably priced at a senior aarp discount of $85.00 including tax. I was told the hotel has a free airport shuttle.

Room Tip: Check for discounts codes offered before booking. AARP, AAA, government etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marci477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    91
    47
    20
    22
See reviews for
88
79
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our room was clean, our coffee maker worked, we had a mini-fridge, so we had no real complaints about the room. The breakfast was decent and plentiful. The gym needs a serious overhaul, and the water was not very hot and the pressure wasn't great. The best thing for us was the location, as we were going to Mount Vernon, and the service. We wanted a panda package for my son, but asked for it last minute. You are supposed to ask a week in advance; it's clearly stated. However, the hotel staff was so nice, they ran to a neighboring hotel and picked one up for us. We truly felt that was going the extra mile, our son was delighted to find the package waiting in our room, so I could get over the gym having a few pieces of equipment that needed to be replaced and the fact my shower could have been a bit warmer. We only spent one night here, then moved to DC. For one night, due to its good staff and proximity to Mount Vernon, we felt like the Best Western was a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njmotherof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times because of its proximity to family and area attractions. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly and helpful.. breakfast has a selection for everyone. The only negative in the room was the lack of hot water, and poor AC. We were on the 6th floor, and the water pressure was not good - sometimes w/out hot water. Also, we put on the AC for sleeping and the air quality was not great. We were not able to open windows. The shuttle to and from the metro is great. We would go back

Room Tip: Higher floor is away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliejoe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was ok for the value. We got a $59/nt rate for a 3 day package on the BW website that could not be matched by calling the hotel directly. Room was fine but a little dark. Were told the shuttle service ran every day but in fact it only runs during the week. Which is actually fine since the Huntington station parking is free on weekends (but it is a 15-20 min drive) and you don't have to wait on the hotel shuttle (which never runs on time). If you do use the shuttle make sure you remember which entrance you come in the Metro on as several guests during our stay took the wrong exit on the way out (a little fact the hotel could fix with a simple flyer) and we had to wait in the shuttle for 30 minutes before the hotel called the guests to see where they were. Breakfast is adequate (waffles, potatos, scrambled eggs and the usual cold breakfast items) but is terribly understaffed with 1 person. On the weekends forget about it, just drive to IHOP or Denny's (10 min drive) and save yourself the trouble of waiting for food to be ready. Another easy remedy for the hotel by putting in an additionaly person. Again, room and rate ok but a bit far from the Metro and the shuttle service and "free" breakfast leave much to be desired. There are hotels of equal value (but without bfast) much closer (3 min) to the Metro.

Room Tip: No swimming pool at this location (apparently had to check a block anyhow for review to go through).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 712TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW CUMBERLAND
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my first time staying at this Best Western. It was a Friday night, got a great rate, and what a great room. I got a king size room, very comfortable bed, very clean room and bath, had the microwave and refrigerator (larger than most hotel rooms) that I look for. Very decent buffet breakfast in a very large room. The location is very convenient to Fort Belvoir and Mount Vernon as the name implies, but not too far from other areas of interest like Old Towne Alexandria. I already made another reservation for this coming Friday (at another great price).

Room Tip: All the king rooms are on one side of the building facing away from a restaurant next door. Queen r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MT-233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Alexandria Fort Belvoir
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 53 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
8.1 mi away
Old Colony Inn
Old Colony Inn
#18 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Property: BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Address: 8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing