We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Best......Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not the Best......Western”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I arrived late and expected a quick check in. Not to be, the lady at the front desk was on the telephone and after 5 minutes, having realized I was getting a little tired of waiting, checked me in while holding her telephone conversation. Not a word was spoken between us, very unusual!! The room wasn't bad but the place itself needs a good clean and refurb. The linens were a bit rough looking and I wasn't convinced they were clean, the floor had "bits" on it. The bathroom was dark due to poor lighting, but clean. For the price, not bad but I expect better things from Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoofheartedfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We apologize your stay was less than expected. Your experience is not typical of our hotel, be assured we are taking your feedback seriously and will use it to make any neccessary adjustments. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with exceptional service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    94
    49
    20
    23
See reviews for
92
82
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
224 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just off Route One and within 5 minutes of Mt. Vernon. Clean Rooms and Hotel, nice
Breakfast in the AM. Across the Hwy. from a Roy Rogers Restaurant, several ethnic
Restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TIM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The sheets smelled like they hadn't been changed, actually smelled like sweat from someone (the towels did not smell like this, so it wasn't the detergent) .
The first day we got there, we had to go to the front and ask for a roll of toilet paper and that was before we had even stayed in the room, the roll barely had any on it and there was not an extra roll...
We left for the day and came back at 8pm and our room STILL was not serviced by the maid on the second day.We Actually got a phone call at 10PM asking if we wanted service or not!!!!!

I went to front counter because our cards were not working (on first day there), and asked the lady up front to fix the cards..........was NOT asked for ID, she had never seen me before and she just reprogrammed them. The only up side of the whole thing was they allowed early check in.

Overall horrible, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cat32168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We apologize for the circumstances regarding your stay. This is not typical of our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience. Please be assured we are taking measures to insure corrections are made were needed. We welcome the opportunity to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

For our trip to D.C., we chose this hotel for two reasons: we had points to get 2 free nights and the proximity to the Metro. We paid for a third night and were granted our request to spend the 3 nights in the same room, a nicely kept king with refrigerator/microwave, good internet connection, and very nice linens. The evening desk clerk was a very pleasant young woman but gave us incorrect information about which Metro Station to use. We also mentioned to her on the first night that, like another guest, we could not access the 3 major TV networks. She promised to look into it and decided it was a cable problem. This was not fixed while we were there, but it was not a big deal.
Our suggestions for updates include: 1. The breakfast area which is a large, uninviting room with dirty floors needs work. The food was standard fare, but who would eat yogurt from a big bowl? Do they put that back in a container and reuse it the next day? Do what other places do and get the little cups! 2. The website promises free shuttle to the Metro. They currently only have service TO the Metro in the morning but no return service in the afternoon/evening. We took our car to the Huntington Station.
Overall, though, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSU1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Front desk clerk was tired and indifferent. Air conditioner in our room sounded like it was dying.
When we called the front desk, they told us to come down and get another key - no apology, no explanation, not even so much as an explanation of where the new room was. When I asked, the person just pointed to the hand written number crossed out and re-written on the key envelope. They also neglected to inform us that the new room was on a floor with a high school class trip, with kids running and sreaming up and down the halls all night. Couldn't leave soon enough. We've stayed at Best Westerns across the country and have always been impressed. Not this time.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is one. However, since it is near Mt. Vernon, it might be a good idea to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We apologize for not meeting your expectations. This is not the typical experience at our hotel and we will take measures to insure a similar incident does not happen. We welcome the chance to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Mid-trip we changed plans so that we could spend a day in Alexandria. When trying to book a room the night before arriving, I found that every hotel I called was full. This hotel was my last option and it was definitely more than okay. The location was an easy 15 minute drive from Old Town Alexandria. The room was quiet, bed very comfortable, bath and bedroom spotless. The breakfast was more than acceptable and was served by an attentive and friendly staff person. We were pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudyskiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are please we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed during National Police Week. Far enough to get away from crowds but still close enough to get into DC fast. Clean property, helpful staff, and good location.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFCBKGA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Alexandria Fort Belvoir
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 53 in Alexandria
190 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
5.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Property: BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Address: 8751 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309-4223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing