We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“hotel staff were very frendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
herculaneum
1 review
“hotel staff were very frendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

staff advised of good restaurant and travel from hotel to Washington DC

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear gastman, Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    84
    46
    18
    21
See reviews for
85
70
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Best Western Mount Vernon the weekend of the Jon Stewart Rally to Restore Sanity, held on the Washington Mall in DC.

We were a little late in booking hotels in the city, but fortunately this one had a few rooms left, so we booked it right away. The price was extremely reasonable, and while it was a trek (about a 45 minute Metro ride from the end of the blue line) into DC, we were overall satisfied with our stay.

If you have a car, it is MUCH easier to get around - especially if you are planning to go into DC and Alexandria. The Franconia-Springfield Metro stop is about a 10 minute drive away, BUT has 8000 free parking spots. (The DC Metro is the best I've EVER seen - I highly recommend using it to get ANYWHERE).

Anyhow, the hotel itself is an older two star building. However, our room had some new upgrades. The carpet was recently replaced, and the bathroom had also recently been renovated. The drain in the tub was a little clogged, but that was my only real complaint about the room. We stayed on the first floor looking out onto Richmond Highway, so it was a little noisy, but not intolerable. The stay included a free buffet breakfast, which was pretty standard. The beds were comfortable and the room was a good size for two.

I would definitely recommend this hotel on a budget. Although it was kind of out in the middle of nowhere (there's not a lot to see on Richmond Highway), but the price was right, the staff were friendly, and the room was clean. (And the rally was awesome!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SexiBexxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our Fall Vacation. We visited D.C., Alexandria and Mount Vernon. The hotel is old and run down. We made advance reservations and were told upon arrival before 6:00pm that we could not get our money back so we decided to go ahead and stay. The only thing good about this place was the bed and the front desk evening clerk. The plugs in the room didn't work and only one lamp worked. Our cell phone chargers would fall out of the plugs so we had to take turns charging our phones in the bathroom. The remote on the TV didn't work either. The breakfast is served in the basement and it was horrible! The room it was served in was dirty and the food was old and stale. We didn't eat it. This place needs to be torn down!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 51560Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I was working in the Washington DC area and needed a hotel. I had stayed at this hotel previously, but I did not remember anything about it. This was before I started writing revews on TripAdvisor. I needed an inexpensive room and although this one was $139 per night, it was one of the least expensive rooms I found in the area. The price had jumped significantly from my previous stay. Unfortunately, the quality of the hotel did not.

When I arrived, I immediately recognized it. It has a small entrance on Richmond Highway, which is easy to pass if you're not careful. The hotel is not walking distance to very much, so you will definitely need a car if you stay there. It is nowhere near the Metro, and the traffic to get to one of the stations is unbelievable.

The lobby was unmemorable. The hotel staff were competent, although every single one seemed disinterested in their jobs. Most nights, the evening clerk was sitting at the single computer in the business center surfing the web instead of standing behind the counter.

The room was average at best. I am a Best Western Rewards Diamond Member, so I've seen BW hotels all across the country. I'd put this one somewhere below the 50% mark as far as their hotels go. I'd probably rank it in the bottom 40-45%. It was clean, but that's about as far as I would go in complimenting it.

For $139 per night (plus tax), you should get a better hotel than this one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weary_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We often slept at Best Western hotels so far, and this one was absolutely Best Western Standard. Room were comfortable, clean and spacious, staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast good (with waffle irons).
The hotel is situated about 10 mi from Washington DC centre and not far away from an outback restaurant and several shops.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We recently stayed at the this property. We absolutely were thrilled. Our room was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C3805731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms extra clean and comfortable bedding. Breakfast was ok. Very convenient to Mt. Vernon...within 10min. Wireless internet worked great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#30 of 52 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
5.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#19 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Property: BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Address: 8751 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309-4223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing