We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service. Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vaso's Kitchen

Vaso's Kitchen
Ranked #88 of 752 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great service. Excellent food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The service by far is what made this restaurant special. Very friendly attentive people. The restaurant itself is tiny but cozy. We went at an odd time so wasnt too crowded and got in without a reservation. The food was excellent. Would love to comd back if im in alexandria again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mohmohsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    62
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New-fangled News!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I strongly suspect that I might have a recessive gene from Iapetus The Piercer imbued on my DNA, because I have this "thing" for Greek food. I often go searching for Greek food and I try to tour a variety of the Greek restaurants in the area (and abroad) to properly and correctly build my personalis cibus culturae. So, suffering a sudden withdraw, I went again to Vaso's Kitchen in Alexandria, Virginia, for an emergency Greek fix.

I ordered my all-time favorite: Veal Valdostana. I also ordered fried calamari, and being an aggressive oenophile; I ordered a glass of white Greek wine to entertain my jaws while I waited anxiously for the "divinam carnes vitulinae" to be cooked for me. My server was a beautiful Russian lady who brought to my mind a puff of remembrance of Catherine II The Great. I was eating alone and in silence, and I couldn't help but notice that something was different this time in the place... it was a blow in the ambient... the patrons seemed to be inoculated with some sort of strange ecstasy... the air was filled with smiles of complicity... Bacchus was on vacation so it wasn't the food... something was brewing... it was a babeldom...

The veal Valdostana arrived moments later and I devoured it with the daintiness of the Waterford Crystal; but with the hunger of an enraged lion. Needles to say that the wine, the calamari and the Valdostana were of bombastic scent and of magniloquent taste. While eating, I worked incognito the Grape Vines with other customers, and I found out the excitement was due to that Vaso's is opening a new place in King Street! The mystery was resolved, and the food eaten; so I liquidate my check, I took a quick look at the legs of Catherina II The Great, and I left the place dreaming. Oh, right!, the standard stuff before I forget: celebrating ambience, talented prices, awesome food, and ambrosial desserts! See you at the new place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Vaso's Kitchen was excellent. The menu selection is varied and there is something to please everyone. My husband and I had different veal entrees which were equally excellent. The wait staff was attentive but never intrusive. It was similar to dining in Europe. The meal was relaxed and we were there for two hours. Wine selections were good. A definite stop if you are in Alexandria. It was walking distance from the Crowne Plaza, Alexandria.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travels48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mmmmm good!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Vaso's Kitchen transported us back to our trips to Europe from the cozy surroundings to the incredible homemade Greek food. Their marinara sauce is chunky flavored with fresh, vine-ripened tomatoes. Their serving portions are so large that two people easily had more than enough. Even their appetizers are shareable. Their daily specials reflect local market finds but everything was fresh, well seasoned, and plated. Don't forget to try their desserts especially their homemade Tiramisu and Yalaktoboureko (rare find). Their staff is attentive and friendly. What a great spring surprise in a quaint Alexandria neighborhood. Treat yourself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReSt0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
197 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Locations and outdoor fun”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A nice Greek restaurant with outdoor seating. Though we were a group with a little kid the staff took very good care of us. The food was great as was the service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kashgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaso's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Vaso's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing