We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome little locals joint!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vaso's Kitchen

Vaso's Kitchen
Ranked #90 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome little locals joint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

In short - the Greek food here is fantastic (highly recommend the gyro sandwich) and the Italian food is average, except they have great pizza! I also recommend the crab & avocado salad. There is nothing special about this restaurant as far as the decor or ambiance, but service is usually pretty good and the food keeps me coming back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    61
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Love the soup taste as good as yaya's avogolemono.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was really good can't wait to come back It was so great The presentation was good. Though they did mess up on an order it was still good

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Th7123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great neighborhood place. I live a block away so I eat here a couple of times a month and have just about everything on the menu. The Gyro is easily the best in town, and the Athenian chicken is delicious, but it helps to call ahead and reserve that dish since they run out almost every night. All of the appetizers are very good, so we usually get a Greek Sampler to have a good mix. All of the seafood selections the have are very well prepared and they usually have several options. They also have a nice selection of Greek beers. Although not really Greek, they also make a good chicken parmesan and pizza.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great, fresh Greek & Mediterranean Food, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Vaso's is a great neighborhood restaurant, friendly and cozy, with a well-prepared, fresh and tasty mix of Greek, Mediterranean and Italian dishes, and a staff that treats regulars like family. Very well run, Vaso's has a wide array of choices on the menu, from fish to chicken, lamb and beef, salads and Italian dishes. Prices are very reasonable too. While eating there on several different occasions, i saw customers and staff greet each other like old friends, with the owner even sitting down in the booth wtih a couple to chat for a few minutes during their lunch. I look forward to going back soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hammerabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stay away, it's only for locals...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

...or that's what you might think passing by this tiny shack of a restaurant on a residential street north of old town Alexandria. The neon sign above this Cypriot restaurant advertises a barbeque pit, but inside Vaso's Kitchen you will find a truly family-run establishment filled with a striking diversity of customers at about 30 tables. We tried it after reading Tom Sietsema's review in the Washington Post, and we were not disappointed. As someone who puts high quality dishes on the family dinner table every night, I sometimes want to just go to a restaurant that will return the favor without depriving my first born of his inheritance. I want high-quality dishes served in a homey environment at a price that feels fair, and makes me want to be "a regular." There are so few places like this, so I am over the moon to discover Vaso's Kitchen. We had the Greek sampler to start, and boy is everyone right to recommend this. I had the best Gyro of my life there, and my wife reported a similarly exclamatory experience with her Chicken Souvlaki. When we looked around at other tables, everyone had beautiful things on their plates (the pork and veal dishes looked especially tantalizing). Make reservations and try to sit up front, where all the action is. We're locals, and we'll be back. But even if you aren't a local, you'll feel like one here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pugetsound70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaso's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Vaso's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing