We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure”
Review of Cosmopolitan

Cosmopolitan
Ranked #49 of 757 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Huntington
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place is a hidden treasure. The food is unique and excellent. The location is not the greatest (next to Gold's Gym), but it is so worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maryb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    32
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
IMG_0020.JPG
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“food took me back to GE”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

friend recommended. food was excellent and not expensive. if restaurant was located any place else the menu prices would be more. will return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vfoote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Grill in DC”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

It is a must try restaurant in DC Metropolitan.
Wonderful food, great service and a reasonable price.
Most likely you will have a chance to meet owners and ask about any little detail related to the food served. Catering is available (best value in town).

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doug s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
339 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Superb Balkin Food in Alexandria”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Cosmopolitan is a welcome addition to the diverse restaurant offerings on Route One. I have been there twice and have not been disappointed. If you have lived in Europe and want Balkan food as you remember, this is the real deal. I only wish they had a better beer selection on tap.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sail2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A surprisingly high quality European restaurant hidden in a strip mall”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We went for dinner with the whole family (3 kids) and our German Au Pair. A great meal and the Wiener Schnitzle was very good and got the very positive vote from our Au pair. She said it is not the best she has had, but a very good effort. Great bread with the meal. There is no kids menu, but each of our kids (ages 8, 9, 11) was able to find something on the menu they loved. Good wine list. Short but good beer list. Interior atmosphere is surprisingly nice for the strip mall location. I rated value as a 3 because I would rather have had smaller entrees for a lower price than $19 entrees and everyone left with a to-go box because the portions were so big. My Au pair was very happy to find Milka and Kinder chocolates for sale!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tate3441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosmopolitan also viewed

 

Been to Cosmopolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing