We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cod & Guiness were OK, batter-coating not OK”

Eamonn's A Dublin Chipper
Ranked #199 of 757 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: Old Town
Iowa
Level Contributor
368 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
“Cod & Guiness were OK, batter-coating not OK”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Between switching from the Mt Vernon bus to the DC metro, we decided to tour & dine in historic old-town Alexandria. EDC is a very small self-service establishment. There is a counter with stools to the rear and a few communal tables & bench seats in the front that different groups of tourists are encouraged to share. The gentleman taking food orders was helpful in making our selections We joined a lone eater at the table & benches along the front window. It was fun to watch the tourist, dog & car traffic go by in the street intersection on a busy weekend.

The paper bag dining was reminiscent of the newspaper wrapped fish & chips you get overseas. While the piece of cod I got was thick, unfortunately so was the batter it was fried in. Not nice & crunchy but almost crust-like hard? My chips were a little overly soggy. Overall not comparable to fish & chips in Ireland or England. However their Guiness was properly poured and tasty and their malt vinegar tasted good on both the fish and the chips. Based on it's authentic looking atmosphere, I was hoping to rate EDC higher but have to give it just an Average for the lack of authentic-ness? of the fish & chips I received.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    61
    20
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
149 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“No service, no atmosphere, food questionable...”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Visited this place because of good reviews. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT! This is basically fish fast food but without the quality control of a Macs or KFC. While the fried cod was fresh, it was also very greasy and the fish was mushy, not firm. Even worse, fish & chips, right? Wrong! You pay extra (a lot extra) for your chips. Mine came tepid, limp & greasy with no seasoning whatever. The high point was the ketchup on them.

There is little seating - essentially 4 communal tables with benches. There is no service - just a surly order taker at a register. There are no fountain drinks - just cans out of a cooler.

For this supposedly great treat we paid $27 for lunch & that was with 2 regular pcs of fish, 1 regular fries & 2 cans coke. We will not be returning anytime soon, especially with the vast variety of food offerings within steps of this shop. What a dismal experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lraff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply Fresh Fried Cod”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The place is small, but quaint. The fish is fresh and delicious!! We tried two of the 7 sauces featured. The chips were delicious too! We tried both the Cod and Basa (fresh fish of the day). We enjoyed both and we would recommend to those looking for some fresh fried fish in a casual location. It's on the corner of King and Columbus, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. The desserts were around $2.75 to $3. and they were awesome too! We did the fried snicker bar! Yummy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingsamVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing food and drinks!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I loved this pub! My husband had two different types of fish and chips, and I had the chicken, and it was all so amazing! I can't really eat fish, but the chicken was battered the same way, making it a wonderful experience for me, too. It is the best I've had anywhere. I also had a drink that seemed to capture the essence of Old Town Alexandria, which is always a wonderful experience. I guess it would be the equivalent of having a frozen margarita on the beaches of Mexico. We also had some Magner's Irish Cider, which is also amazing! Enjoy, because we cannot find that stuff on the West Coast. The atmosphere, food, and drinks are too good of an experience to miss while in Old Town Alexandria.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KT702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,340 reviews
1,393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,904 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Eh. How many ways can you have fish and chips before it gets old? They've found the answer here. Not a fan. Super divey, expensive for what you get, incredibly greasy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eamonn's A Dublin Chipper also viewed

 

Been to Eamonn's A Dublin Chipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing