We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with a great view”
Review of Indigo Landing - CLOSED

Indigo Landing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: George Washington Parkway
Transit: Located off the George Washington Parkway, half way between Ronald Reagan National Airport and Old Town Alexandria on Dangerfield Island at the Washington Sailing Marina.
Description: Indigo Landing is an all-season sanctuary unlike any in the DC Metropolitan area. Guests can find refuge from the urban world and enjoy the tranquility of this natural setting while viewing the monuments of Washington, DC. With an indoor/outdoor bar, water views, fireplace lounge, folding glass walls, spacious decks and more, you'll be immersed in beautiful surroundings all year round. Whether you're plane spotting in the summer, watching sailors gliding on the river in the fall, or simply enjoying the beauty of the snowfall while next to a roaring fire, Indigo is the perfect location for any season. Our Afterdeck Cafe is now open everyday from 10:00am to 5:00pm. Sunday Brunch is served 11:00 am to 2:00 pm.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The views of the Washington skyline and National Airport is truly excellent. The food is good, but the menu is somewhat limited. You are paying something for the view, but the food and service are still good.

Thank 2blueyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canaanvalleyresort, Manager at Indigo Landing, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your dining experience with us. We really are lucky to have such an amazing view and we are happy to share it with our customers. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 174 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We started our meal with two appetizers for our party of six. The guacamole with chips arrived with a 1/2 scoop of guacamole, 1/2 scoop of sour cream, and 1/2 scoop of a bean salsa. When we've ordered guacamole at other restaurants, it's a much bigger "scoop" of (just) guacamole. Fortunately, I had ordered a second appetizer, the crab dip, which was also $12 and also small. The broiled crab cakes were good, put the coleslaw was runny and very sweet, and the fries are just ordinary. The asparagus risotto that came with the salmon had very little asparagus. The 1/2 rack of ribs were just ordinary. The service was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kuke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I expected higher end menu for the price. I felt that the selection of the menu could have been extended with the space they had for the meal. like maybe savory and sweet crepes, fresh berries for the waffles, carved meat, nice cheese tray, and a better selection of pastries like maybe local bakeries selections instead of frozen cakes. We did enjoy the location. Maybe I am spoiled coming from Lancaster County LOL

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank broketravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canaanvalleyresort, Manager at Indigo Landing, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your dining experience with us. We will take your suggestions into thought when planning our food specials that are offered in addition to our static menu items. The view is truly spectacular and we are glad you experienced the beauty of our location. We hope you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good brunch buffet including made to order waffles , seafood and fresh fruit and mimosas. Eat indoors or outdoors overlooking the sailboats on the Potomac and the planes taking off from Washington National

Thank 4Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canaanvalleyresort, Manager at Indigo Landing, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Sunday Brunch you recently enjoyed at Indigo. We are thrilled you enjoyed the made to order waffles as much as we do! We hope to see you again soon at brunch, or enjoying our new dinner menu on the deck. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ate here with our family for an early dinner. Enjoyed the views of marina and Potomac river as well as plane traffic. I had the "special catch of the day" and found it very boring. It was a grilled mahi mahi with mashed potatoes and broccolini. The fish seemed a bit overlooked and bland. The potatoes tasted as if they were from a cafeteria line and the broccolini also seemed overlooked--rather limp. There were quite a few people eating on the outside decks and I think a better time would have been enjoying drinks and appetizers on the deck.
The service was very good but overall the food did not live up to the $24 price tag for the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo Landing also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing