We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Inventors Hall of Fame

National Inventors Hall of Fame
Ranked #34 of 85 things to do in Alexandria
Attraction details
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

While we were in Washington, D.C for Thanksgiving we decided to visit the U.S Patent and Trademark Office. This museum is in the Patent and Trademark building, which is pretty cool. The museum is a little small but still full of information. There is interactive stuff to play with as well as videos to watch. When you are done, there is a well stocked gift shop to purchase a souvenir from.

Along with the museum, while we were there they had a great exhibit on the first floor of the building commemorating Steve Job(R.I.P). It was probably 30 giant iPhones that had Apple Inc.'s Patent's and Trademark's in them. Lastly, you can fill out some paperwork and get a free badge that allows you to look through the records in the Patent and Trademark Office. Overall it was a great experience!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMeadeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Minimalist!...Disappointed in the experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The building housing the museum is awesome and worth taking a look while there. HOWEVER the museum itself is the size of a gift shop...which has a gift shop in it. Minimum tiny exhibits and presentations.
No exhibits jumped out at me that shouted "Wow or Cool." I was disappointed in the experience. Would NOT go again.

Parking can be difficult.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JonRSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I visited this "museum" last week. It only has one theme per year in a small space -- with a gift shop, of course. If you are in the area and have less than 1 hour to kill, then maybe this is worth a visit. We were able to walk there from our hotel, so at least we hadn't gone to a big effort to get there. The DC/Alexandria area has many more interesting sites to see than this.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
215 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great free museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Small and off the beaten path, the US Patent and Trademark museum is close to the metro at King Street. It is a great diversion off the normal tourist path and offers rotating exhibits. Add in a stop in Old Town with plenty of eating establishments and other activities.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank sharalDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
537 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Not a Lot Going On”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is off the beaten path (away from the other museums), but if you find yourself at the foot of Old Town Alexandria, it's worth a stop. The exhibits are interesting and we learned a lot, but there just wasn't much here.

Helpful?
1 Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Inventors Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to National Inventors Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing