We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thai dinner tonight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mai Thai

Mai Thai
Ranked #88 of 752 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Thai dinner tonight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal. Nice atmosphere. Great location. Try #22 on the menu...yummy! Appetizers were delicious. Really liked the menu selections. Seems to be a local favorite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroadagain467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    107
    44
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location in Old Town Alexandria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were delighted to be able to get an outside table. Atmosphere was very nice. The food was good Thai fare, but nothing special. I had the fried rice which had whole shrimp and large pieces of meat, which was a nice surprise. My daughter's vegetarian dish was too spicy for her to enjoy. The third member of our party ordered her usual-the clay pot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
574 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Middle of the Thai Road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Not great but serviceable. Good for a quick bite when one is in the mood for Thai but not fancy.

Food was slightly above average. Service bordered on indifferent. Nothing special, but sometimes that's what one is seeking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“"MEH" Thai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hadn't eaten here for awhile but we decided to try it again.
Spring rolls were cold. Soup was lukewarm.
Shrimp in the Shrimp Clay Pot reeked of iodine.

I think this restaurant on lower King Street attracts tourists, but the locals know better.
Nice service and friendly staff, but the food is just meh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaPear16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wish the experience matched the first impression...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Took my girlfriend there because it was one of her favorites when she lived here a few years ago. When we arrived, I could see why. Walk in the door and it was a very nice atmosphere. Couldn't get enough of the smell...SOOO good. Service was very attentive, friendly and helpful in making suggestions for me: the newbie to this establishment.

When we got our food, it was not what I expected. I love Thai food and so does she, but both dishes were lacking. She had the grilled duck curry and it still had several small, but unappetizing feather roots in it. I had the Bangkok Noodle special and something in it just didn't sit right with me. Sorry I can't be more descriptive, but I did not feel well half way through the meal and didn't finish it. We had a grilled chicken skewer appetizer and THAT was amazing. Unfortunately, I don't think it's enough to bring me back. A smidge pricy too, but what ISN'T in Old Town?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Thai also viewed

 

Been to Mai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing