We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic house tour...easy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle House

Carlyle House
Book In Advance
$15*
and up
Civil War History Walking Tour of Alexandria
Ranked #7 of 78 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Georgian Palladian manor house built in 1753 by merchant and city founder John Carlyle. Here, five royal governors and General Braddock met to discuss funding of the French and Indian War. Daily tours, youth programs, special events, exhibits and lectures offer visitors a chance to experience eighteenth century life through the eyes of one man and his family as he made the journey from English citizen to American patriot. The story of Carlyle House parallels the early history of Alexandria, colonial Virginia, and America and is brought to life through costumed interpreters, guides and fun family programs. Tues.-Sat. 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun. noon-4 p.m. (tours on the hour and half hour, last tour at 4).
winchester, va
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice historic house tour...easy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a great stop in Alexandria - located in the center of the tourist area. There is a film and then a guided house tour. Adds context about the history of Alexandria - from the Revolutionary War through the Civil War. Pretty patio and gardens.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank trarvelchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    45
    15
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historical and Affordable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great house that is in the downtown Alexandria area, but it's also an attraction that is often missed. Admission was only five dollars a person (or four with the coupon on their website), and the tour includes entrance to a small museum, a video, and your own personal tour the house. Our guide was not only informative about the house and its previous occupants, but also the surrounding area.
For those with babies, nursing in the main entrance on the green benches is easy to do and you're still able to hear the tour guide, even once they reach the second floor. I was given some time to look back into the rooms to catch up after feeding our baby.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank creslean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Knowledgeable Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We wandered into the Carlyle house knowing nothing about its history, aside from the fact that it was old.
We had our own guide for the tour, who was very knowledgeable and finished the tour knowing a great deal more about the history of Alexandria.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Candlelight tour was wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

As part of a Holiday Candlelight Tour, I was impressed with the beauty of this home, and the fact there were young people volunteers acting as docents. One young man named Victor, in particular, was just lovely. It gives me heart to see the younger generation embracing the past in such a hands-on way.

I don't know if there is a regular fee involved with visiting this home, but there was a very reasonable cost for the tour of the four properties.

I would recommend this to anyone!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boograss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Step back in time with this historic house completed back in 1753 by the English merchant John Carlyle for his young bride Sarah. We did the candlelight tour, you get to hear the story how they lived, how it became the center of social and political life in Alexandria. 2 wives, 11 children but only 3 survived to become adults. Well preserved home. The staffs are well informed, answered all of our questions, dont forget to go to the basement, it has a little museum and a gift shop, this tour is NOT to be missed!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AsianBelle98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlyle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing