We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Inspirational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred Street Baptist Church

Alfred Street Baptist Church
Ranked #26 of 78 things to do in Alexandria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alfred Street is among the oldest African American Baptist Churches in America, celebrating its bicentennial in 2003.
Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
269 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“So Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Alexandria, VA from Ohio. We had been headed for a different church we had seen on the Internet for their Easter Sunday Sunrise Service. We were running a little late, and saw a lot of people going into this church. We thought let's just go here. Oh wow, we had no idea what a blessing we would receive. The pastor was truly inspirational. The church had a full choir and orchestra with violins, bass, brass, grand piano. The soloists were fantastic. The church had an Easter service the night before and 5 services that day...and it was packed. Everybody was very friendly, and it made me feel good about our future. We were not dressed as well as most, but that didn't matter. The women around us wore hats and gloves, and the men were in suits. We felt like we had been to church!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank laurelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
191 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great church, amazing congregation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped in here on Good Friday. We didn't stay for the whole service, but the members of the congregation were so welcoming and friendly. They really made a difference in our vacation. Before the service several members of the church were playing the hand bells, Wow! Just wow! They were wonderful! My kids were mesmerized and wanted to stay and listen for hours. This was an unexpected highlight of our vacation to Washington DC.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoMama33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Welcoming Spirit and Excellent Biblical Teaching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pastor Howard John Wesley is a phenomenal pastor and preacher. He's charismatic, very intelligent, and spot on with his theological knowledge. The environment is warm and inviting. The choirs are excellent. There are ministries offered to serve almost anyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_Diva97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Church with Wonderful Choir”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have visited this church several times and always enjoy the music portion of the service. Everyone there is very friendly and welcoming. The service is quite long compared to what I am accustomed to so I don't stay for the entire service; but the pastor is very good and I enjoy my visits for their many special concerts and events.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very inspiring church service. The pastor was outstanding. The atmosphere electric.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfred Street Baptist Church also viewed

 

Been to Alfred Street Baptist Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing